Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
July 25, 2014, 10:20:06 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: You will not have to go out in the rain, sleet, hail, or snow to retrieve it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Who's the computer networking guru on the board?  (Read 2941 times)
gumpy
Some Assembly Required
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3173


Slightly modified 1982 MC9


WWW

Ignore
« on: November 18, 2008, 11:44:09 AM »

I know this is OT, but I also know from recent activity that many on the board don't read the OT section, so I thought I'd put it up here, and ask the moderators to remove it in a few days after everyone's had a chance to see it.

I know someone on the board probably knows more about computer networking than I do.

Here's the issue. I have an desktop running Win XP. It's connected to my wireless router and DSL connection via 100 Mbps ethernet. Working fine.

I also have two W98 machines on the same network, connected to the router through a 10 Mbps hub (the XP machine used to be through the hub, but is now direct to the router).

I just bought a laptop with Win Vista Home Premium on it and a wireless card in it, and I'm trying to get it to see shared folders on the XP machine.

The laptop is connecting to the wireless router/DSL with no problem, but it can't see the XP machine. However, it can see the W98 machines, and the XP machine can see the laptop.

I also have an old 133 Mhz tower running W98 with a wireless card in it, and it has not had any problems seeing the XP machine, though I have not tried it since I bought the laptop this past weekend.

I've surfed for answers, and have tried everything I've found, but am not having any luck.

Is any one out there well versed in this stuff?
My forte is embedded software. Networking just tends to piss me off.

Anyway, please contact me via email or call me after 4:00 central time if you can help me figure this out.

thanks
craig
Logged

Craig Shepard
Located in Minnesquito

http://bus.gumpydog.com - "Some Assembly Required"
JackConrad
Orange Blossom Special II
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4446


73' MC-8 8V71/HT740 Southwest Florida


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2008, 12:15:44 PM »

Hey Tom,
   Here's your chance to pay for that delicious beer butt chicken and fudge.  LOL  Jack
Logged

Growing Older Is Mandatory, Growing Up Is Optional
Arcadia, Florida, When we are home
http://s682.photobucket.com/albums/vv186/OBS-JC/
Sean
Geek.
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2536


'85 Neoplan Spaceliner "Odyssey"


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2008, 02:38:32 PM »

Craig,

Do you have any firewall software running on any of these machines?  If so, you will need to open the ports for Windows networking file access, otherwise you will get the symptoms you describe.  FWIW.

-Sean
http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com
Logged

Full-timing in a 1985 Neoplan Spaceliner since 2004.
Our blog: http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com
white-eagle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1184





Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2008, 05:00:48 PM »

Craig,
Guess i better suggest something also b4 gumpy turns to grumpy.  Cheesy

i have an exam cram manual for TCP/IP, another on Networks, Network design, and Network Essentials.  all for you at the special price of just $9.95 each plus shipping. wait, if you act now, i'll also throw in Security Design. and today only, i can add an Intel Wireless Networking Enterprise training manual.  CD not included.
*warning: not to be taken with aspirin, viagra, and may cause headaches, bigfoot, and the runs.
Logged

Tom
1991 Eagle 15 and proud of it.
8V92T, 740, Fulltime working on the road.

Fran was called to a higher duty 12/16/13. I lost my life navigator.
white-eagle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1184





Ignore
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2008, 06:11:50 PM »

craig,
can't find your phone, and web doesn't work either.  call my phone and or send me an email with phone and i'll call you.

trade up the vista to business level, then format and install xp.  when it asks for registration, call the 800 number and tell them you have a vista business license and they'll give you a registration that will let you use xp.  that only is allowed with vista bus or ultimate.

then, make sure they are all on same workgroup, same user id and same password for ease of use.  and like sean said, turn off the firewall unless they are on the internet without a hardware router. 

Logged

Tom
1991 Eagle 15 and proud of it.
8V92T, 740, Fulltime working on the road.

Fran was called to a higher duty 12/16/13. I lost my life navigator.
sommersed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2008, 09:38:27 PM »

I suggest the free trial version of Network Magic from CISCO and let the program do all the work. It's at http://www1.purenetworks.com/product/pro.php
Logged
JackConrad
Orange Blossom Special II
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4446


73' MC-8 8V71/HT740 Southwest Florida


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2008, 04:40:45 AM »

I suggest the free trial version of Network Magic from CISCO and let the program do all the work. It's at http://http://www1.purenetworks.com/product/pro.php

This is what we use, except we purchased the full version.  Very easy to use. We presently have 3 computers and soon adding a 4th. Any file can be clicked on and "added to shared list". that file is now avaialable on all our computers. Desktop is hardwired to router, all laptops are wireless connection to router.  Jack
Logged

Growing Older Is Mandatory, Growing Up Is Optional
Arcadia, Florida, When we are home
http://s682.photobucket.com/albums/vv186/OBS-JC/
Sean
Geek.
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2536


'85 Neoplan Spaceliner "Odyssey"


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2008, 06:26:01 AM »

... then format and install xp.


That only works if your computer manufacturer has done the work to write and provide XP drivers for all the hardware.  Many consumer PC's today are developed out of the gate for Vista only, and the XP drivers simply do not exist.

Before going through any upgrade process on Vista to obtain an XP license, you should check with your hardware manufacturer to make sure they have XP drivers and will provide them to you.

Also, this really should not be necessary.  XP and Vista play together just fine with Windows networking, as long as all configuration has been done correctly.  Note that Microsoft made several changes in file sharing for Vista, and so there are some steps you need to take.  This bulletin provides a fairly good description:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb727037.aspx

HTH,

-Sean
http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com
Logged

Full-timing in a 1985 Neoplan Spaceliner since 2004.
Our blog: http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com
Hartley
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1217





Ignore
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2008, 09:21:10 AM »

Ok... Well not that anyone has really given the wrong answers they all have some merit.

However... Windows Vista Home does not have all of the robust networking in it that Vista business or Ultimate have. It's different and a PITA...

I run XP Pro machines and one Vista Ultimate and have no networking issues out of the box. I do configure the XP machines with Windows networking components all installed.

I worked on a Vista Home machine a month ago and made it see the XP machines although the networking in HOME is weak and doesn't want to see everything anyway.

Vista HOme will only see and share "PUBLIC" tagged folders. While Ultimate, Business and XP will see "ANY" shared folders as long as Network Discovery and File & Printer sharing  is turned on on the Vista machine.

All flavors of VISTA HOME are the equivalent of Windows ME which is broken on purpose...

Your W98 and XP machines all speak the same networking especially with the Netbeui support installed as will W2000 machines. The playing field is level between them sort of.

If you don't want to de-grade back to XP Pro or slide over to Business (also broken!@@!)
then the next jump would be to "Ultimate" to resolve the networking issue without having to reinvent the lug nut....Never mind the wheel....

Using 3rd party tools are as expensive and problematic as time progresses and you would probably end up at Ultimate anyway.... ( Yeah OUCH!!$$$ ) But the problems will go away once and for all.( Usually )...

Dave....
Logged

Never take a knife to a gunfight!
DSweet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33





Ignore
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2008, 12:17:55 PM »

First thing I would do is low level format the lap top and put XP on it.  Then
set the system up and reload the laptop.  Vista is junk with a capitol J!  My
neighbor is in the industry, he agrees that vista isn't worth the problems.
Blessings,
David
Logged
white-eagle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1184





Ignore
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2008, 02:09:39 PM »

... then format and install xp.


That only works if your computer manufacturer has done the work to write and provide XP drivers for all the hardware.  Many consumer PC's today are developed out of the gate for Vista only, and the XP drivers simply do not exist.

Before going through any upgrade process on Vista to obtain an XP license, you should check with your hardware manufacturer to make sure they have XP drivers and will provide them to you.

Also, this really should not be necessary.  XP and Vista play together just fine with Windows networking, as long as all configuration has been done correctly.  Note that Microsoft made several changes in file sharing for Vista, and so there are some steps you need to take.  This bulletin provides a fairly good description:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb727037.aspx

HTH,

-Sean
http://http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com

  Huh Huh  Roll Eyes

We are an OEM, so we do build them.  obviously, you've been buying HP and Dell.  Sad    we build custom Intel PC's where there is a relationship between us and our customers that is more important that between us and MS, as is the case with Dell and HP.  We have yet to have a notebook, server, desktop or workstation that won't run XP.  Your comment about Vista networking "as long as all configuration has been done correctly" is a case for what i already stated, as in Vista is a pita.  MS allows XP when you buy Vista Business from Dell or HP becuase most businesses don't see a good business reason for Vista.  and Vista Home would be worse for networking.
You feel free to make your Vista work correctly.  i'd just as soon not have to give permission each time i want to do something, and i'd also rather use what i have as long as it does what i want better, or at least as well, as Vista.  why spend the money that i could spend on add-ons for my bus? Smiley

Gumpy, i assume you are now working since you haven't posted.  since you did post the questions, you could at least drag out some story about how you cured the issue.  with pics, of course. Cheesy
Logged

Tom
1991 Eagle 15 and proud of it.
8V92T, 740, Fulltime working on the road.

Fran was called to a higher duty 12/16/13. I lost my life navigator.
jjrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2309

MCI5C/N Ft Myers FL




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2008, 02:18:12 PM »






[/quote]  Huh Huh  Roll Eyes



Gumpy, i assume you are now working since you haven't posted.  since you did post the questions, you could at least drag out some story about how you cured the issue.  with pics, of course. Cheesy
[/quote]


 Maybe he has his computer so messed up he cant post  Grin    Jim
Logged

Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room!

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

http://photobucket.com/buspictures
gumpy
Some Assembly Required
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3173


Slightly modified 1982 MC9


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2008, 04:43:23 AM »


Gumpy, i assume you are now working since you haven't posted.  since you did post the questions, you could at least drag out some story about how you cured the issue.  with pics, of course. Cheesy


Tom, I sent you an email yesterday. You must not be checking your mail often, or your email profile on the board is not correct.

No, I don't yet have it working. My job took control of my personal networking this week, and I haven't had time to really play with it much.

I think it may be related to either the router or the vista machine, because I don't see any ICMP requests hitting the XP machine when
I ping it. I'm going to hardwire the laptop to the hub to bypass the router and see if that helps.

Send me your phone number. I'll try to call later this week to talk about this and the books you mentioned.

craig
Logged

Craig Shepard
Located in Minnesquito

http://bus.gumpydog.com - "Some Assembly Required"
oldmansax
Tom & Phyllis
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 984


'82 Bluebird Wanderlodge PT40




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2008, 05:20:51 AM »

I agree with Manasst. Vista is bloated, difficult to work with, and a pita.

TOM
Logged

'82 BlueBird WanderLodge PT40 being rebuilt
Delaware

DON'T STEAL! The government hates competition!
RichardEntrekin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 127





Ignore
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2008, 10:02:52 AM »

Dr Dave is right. It has to be in the public folder on the Vista unit, or the other machines on your network cannot access it. Even if you enable sharing on the folder, it HAS to be in the public folder. Drag it and drop it in the Public folder on the Vista machine and you will be in business.

It whipped my butt for a couple of days too until I figured it out. Thanks Microsoft.
Logged

Richard Entrekin
95 Newell, Detroit S 60
Subaru Outback toad
Huntington WV

Often wrong, but seldom in doubt
gumpy
Some Assembly Required
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3173


Slightly modified 1982 MC9


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2008, 10:11:32 AM »

Ok, here's an update to this problem I posted last week....

First of all, thanks to everyone who responded with suggestions and offers.
I didn't get time to call Tom, but was able to find the solution this weekend.

The problem turned out to be with a Cisco VPN Client I had installed on my XP machine a month ago to
allow me to work from home part time. The VPN Client has a Stateful firewall built into it that is always on, even when the VPN Client is not! Thank you very much Cisco!

So this firewall was blocking all ICMP traffic trying to come into the XP machine. This includes echo requests generated by Ping, so no other system on my network could see the XP machine. The problem was actually already there when I tried to connect the new Vista laptop, but because the other machines on my network are used by my wife and daughter and they seldom access the files on the XP machine I was not aware the problem existed.

The solution was to turn off the Stateful firewall in the VPN Client. Fortunately, they put a command in the options control to disable it. Once it was turned off, all was fine and I was able to access the XP files from all points on the local net. I was even able to open a remote desktop on the XP machine fromt he Vista laptop. Worked slick.

This was a nasty one. I spent a hell of a lot of time trying to find this one. On the plus side, I did learn a bit more about networking and cleared up a couple other minor issues that had been in the system.

I'm not a big fan of Vista. They took away some of the features of XP that I have grown accustomed to.
Also, my Vista version is 64 bit, and the Cisco VPN Client only comes in 32 bit so it won't run on the laptop. All that means is I won't have to work this weekend while I'm away for Thanksgiving Smiley

Moderators, this message can be moved to OT, if you wish. Thanks for allowing it to stay in the main area for the week.

craig
Logged

Craig Shepard
Located in Minnesquito

http://bus.gumpydog.com - "Some Assembly Required"
gumpy
Some Assembly Required
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3173


Slightly modified 1982 MC9


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2008, 10:13:57 AM »

I suggest the free trial version of Network Magic from CISCO and let the program do all the work. It's at http://http://www1.purenetworks.com/product/pro.php



Oh, BTW, I stumbled across this suggestion on another board, also, so gave it a try. Didn't help one bit, and to top it off, it left a bunch of crap installed on my machine that I could not uninstall. Had to actually restore my system to a point prior to the installation of the magic crap.

Logged

Craig Shepard
Located in Minnesquito

http://bus.gumpydog.com - "Some Assembly Required"
white-eagle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1184





Ignore
« Reply #17 on: November 26, 2008, 06:49:37 PM »


I didn't get time to call Tom, but was able to find the solution this weekend.
This was a nasty one. I spent a hell of a lot of time .

craig


Should have called me, you'd have had time enough to make me some fudge instead of troubleshooting your network.  that would not have been a waste of time.

i hate anything with "magic" in the title.  it usually works great until you get a ms update and then you have no clue what happened or where to start reversing anything.

glad you will have time off away from support and enjoying thanksgiving.  i know i deserve time off and i'm going to take it
Everyone have a great turkey day!
Logged

Tom
1991 Eagle 15 and proud of it.
8V92T, 740, Fulltime working on the road.

Fran was called to a higher duty 12/16/13. I lost my life navigator.
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!