Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 25, 2014, 09:14:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: You will not have to go out in the rain, sleet, hail, or snow to retrieve it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Priming Question  (Read 4290 times)
pickpaul
New Bus Not

New Bus Not

Ignore
« on: January 12, 2009, 03:45:47 PM »

I'm going to check out an MCI in a day or two where the owner let the bus run out of fuel so it needs priming. I have some experience of this from my old Diesel Mercedes that was converted to veggie oil and I would like to attempt to get it to start.

My initial plan was to put fuel in the tank then find the fuel return hose and use a hand operated vacuum pump to suck fuel from the return line at the engine but I just read the archives and found the MAK dish soap bottle trick. My question is, what type of tool do you need to remove the plug from the secondary filter housing? how do I locate it? What is the best method for removing the filters to refill? Any other tips for someone who has never touched a bus or DD before and is generally not mechanically talented. Please assume zero knowledge!

Thanks, Paul.
jhaggerty

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2009, 04:00:04 PM »

Hi Paul

I have run the bus out of fuel too. The priming method the guys recommend here is supposed to work well. At the time, I didn't know the secret. Needless to say it took some time. My only advice is to make sure you have lots of battery. It doesn't take too many revolutions before the spinning starts to slow down. Just my experience.

Jim
luvrbus

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2009, 04:34:53 PM »

Paul, some will use a 5/16 allen wrench and some will have a brass plug with 9/16 head on it    good luck
pickpaul
New Bus Not

New Bus Not

Ignore