Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
September 30, 2014, 03:13:31 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This BB is intended for the sole purpose of sharing conversion and bus related information among visitors to our web site. These rules must be followed in order for us to continue this free exchange of info. No bad mouthing of any business or individual is permitted. Absolutely no items for sale are to be posted, except in the Spare Tire board. Interested in placing a classified or web ad, please contact our advertising dept. at 714-903-1784 or e-mail to: info@busconversions.com.

Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Complete newbie... 1966 GMC PD-4107 (#265)  (Read 4964 times)
Vanderbus

Ignore
« on: March 11, 2009, 06:11:26 PM »

Hi,

My friend and I just bought a bus last Saturday. As the title says, it's a PD-4107. We didn't get any manuals, so we've ordered some and are waiting for them to come.

BUT, I can't wait to get started. A bus in the driveway is like money in my pocket; I can't just leave it there. The bus is in pretty good shape, as far as I can tell, but I want to remove as much as possible from the interior (the seats are already gone). I have 2 main concerns with the beginning of this.

1) I understand that our bus has a semi-monocoque design, so I'm not sure what to do about the inner skin.
2) I've read that the floor helps the bus to hold its shape. I haven't pulled the flooring to know what the plywood underneath looks like, but if it needs to be replaced, how do I go about that without compromising the structural integrity of the bus? My guess is a panel-by-panel approach, but I figured I would ask the experts.