Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 30, 2014, 05:54:28 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: By clicking on any ad, a hotlink takes you directly to the advertiserís website.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Cummins ISX for 1985 96A3  (Read 6216 times)
Tornadex

Ignore
« on: March 18, 2009, 11:30:52 AM »

Hi guys, I have just joined this forum, so I am still learning the ropes. I would ask your patience with me.

I am faced with a problem and could sure use some help with finding some options. Here is my dilemma: About two years ago I bought an MCI 96A3 with the original 6V92 Turbo. I have since commenced with the modifications to make it livable and have taken some trips, including one to Florida (I live in MI). While the engine starts amazingly well, it smokes nasty white smoke when I accelerate and until I have driven some 20+ Miles. I also feel like there is really no power. Going through the hills on I75 in TN sometimes I was crawling at 35Mph. I have had it inspected at a turbo shop in Detroit and they feel the turbo is fine. Then last year the left radiator blew up and I got stranded with the engine just shutting down in the middle of the road/intersection. I had the radiator fixed and driven the bus since, but the heat gauge is very close to the shut down temperature, on a hot day.
As my project progresses, my wife and I would like to take the travel options more seriously and we need to review the problem with the engine. So what are my options? I guess
a.) I could have an in-frame rebuild. What should that cost me? I still end up with just 270hp or so