Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
July 30, 2014, 04:12:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If your computer is lost, damaged, or stolen, we will replace all of your E-Mags for free.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie needs help with picking engine,..  (Read 4670 times)
Chariotdriver

Ignore
« on: July 03, 2006, 07:54:41 PM »

I am just getting started in looking for a bus and have come across several in the last week and have wanted to jump in with both feet, only to find out later that I was glad that I waited.
 I have now come across another "deal" and wanted to ask for some input from those in the know.
   It is a MCI9 and the info on it is 8V71 DETROIT DIESEL ENGINE WITH AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION and I have not seen the bus myself yet.
 I talked to a friend of a friend and he suggested I not go with this bus as the engine  could be a problem with mountains and the lack of a Turbo/jakebrake.
   I would like to show a few pics to get your opinion and also am sending one of the plumbing as he said that this could be a problem also as it looked like a home grown project.
 I appreciate anyones input,..
 Thanks,
 Doug

Phil Webb
Pass Christian, MS
BJ

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2006, 08:16:51 PM »

Yes it would be nice to have a turbo and a jake but there are a lot of us out there that don't have either and get along just fine. Yes it is a little slower in the mountains and yes you have to plan those long down hill runs but that is not really a problem. I have spent many a miles in colorado without either, enjoying my trip and the scenery instead of flying past it. (as if a but fly's past anything)  If you like it and you get it checked out by a professional instead of a friend of a friend then go for it and enjoy what it has to offer.. Cheesy
RJ
Former Giant Greenbrier Owner

Ignore