Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
July 25, 2014, 04:17:53 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This BB is intended for the sole purpose of sharing conversion and bus related information among visitors to our web site. These rules must be followed in order for us to continue this free exchange of info. No bad mouthing of any business or individual is permitted. Absolutely no items for sale are to be posted, except in the Spare Tire board. Interested in placing a classified or web ad, please contact our advertising dept. at 714-903-1784 or e-mail to: info@busconversions.com.

Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Jake Brake  (Read 4681 times)
boxcarOkie

Ignore
« on: May 21, 2009, 06:09:08 PM »

Hello, I am new to this, so if this is the wrong place let me know. 

I recently purchased a 1983 Eagle S-10, 550 Detroit with a 6spd Allison.  On the trip back from Florida I noted that the Jake Brake switch was not activating the brake when turned on.  I called the previous owner after I got home and he told me that "it was possibly not working because of the new 6spd transmission that was recently installed" and this just doesn't seem right to me.

Anyone out there ever hear of this?

Thanks,

BCO

luvrbus

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2009, 06:23:29 PM »

All of the 6 speed Allison World transmissions I have seen the Jake is wired into the tranny by way of a module. Take it to a dealer and make sure it is turn on from the engine    Good luck

Live each day like it was your last,one day it will be
Van
Billy Van Hagen

89' Silver Eagle 15/40 6V92MUI Boulder City,NV

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2009, 06:36:55 PM »

you can also check @                                                                             http://www.eaglesinternational.net/forum/index.php
 Good luck.Van