Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 25, 2014, 12:51:08 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If your computer is lost, damaged, or stolen, your Online mags will be safe.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Very Strange Dipstick Reading on 6V92  (Read 3078 times)
Gary Hatt - Publisher BCM

Ignore
« on: November 18, 2009, 09:00:24 AM »

Ok, so I changed my oil in my 6V92 (suggested 8.5 gallons by MCI in Los Alamitos, CA) and I took a dipstick reading, one side of the dipstick had a drop of oil on the bottom (i.e. no reading) but the opposite side of the dipstick had oil for 1.5 inches up the dipstick (over full).

I have been changing oil in engines for over 40 years and checked this over 10 times in disbelief as well did a very experienced engine mechanic and neither of us could understand this phenomena.   

Has anyone ever seen this before in a 6V92 or ANY engine?  BTW, it doesnít look like the dry side of the dipstick has been wiped clean by pulling it out, it is as dry as when it went in and the opposite side is heavily coated with oil.  This is very strange.

Also, does this engine take 8.5 gallons with a dry oil filter?  Just wanted to be sure as it shows over filled on the dipstick.

Gary
bevans6

1980 MCI MC-5C

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2009, 09:07:49 AM »

Mine did that just the other day.  I'm not running it right now so I haven't double checked or figured it out.  Bus has been sitting, pulled the dipstick, it was dry, back in and out, showed right where it should be on one side!  very odd I thought.  Hasn't done it again since.

Brian

1980 MCI MC-5C, 8V-71T from a M-110 self propelled howitzer
Spicer 8844 4 speed Zen meditation device
Vintage race cars -
1978 Lola T440 Formula Ford
1972 NTM MK-4 B/SR
luvrbus

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2009, 09:18:19 AM »