Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 25, 2014, 12:09:08 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It takes up much less space in your bus.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: No Power ---- Help  (Read 7324 times)
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 12769




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2009, 06:06:33 AM »

I believe Don is out of town he was last week when I spoke with him .
Check that area for a Delany and Alph or Valley Power if you need repairs 
 Don is about 75 miles from you also 



good luck
« Last Edit: November 23, 2009, 06:13:30 AM by luvrbus » Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
RTS/Daytona
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526


Pete RTS/Daytona ->'89 TMC 35' 102" 6V92TA 4:10


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: November 23, 2009, 06:07:59 AM »

Do what Jack Suggested - feel both manifolds - ONE WHOLE BANK IS PROBALY NOT FIRING - this happened to Ace a while back

If you have a DDEC-II - Check for the INJECTOR - 12 volts on pins A&B and E&F of the CENTER 6 PIN CONNECTOR (there will be 3 small oval conectors in a row - a five pin on each end and a 6 pin in the center) - pins A&B are at one end of the connector and pins E&F are on the other)  - the positive wire are almost always RED and 12 gauge - also check the 2 IGJECTOR ground wires THEY ARE THE 2 CENTER PINS (C&D) ON THAT SAME CONNECTOR -  

IF you have a DDEC-III or IV - IIRC the SQUARE CONNECTOR IS INJECTOR POWER - CHECK FOR RED WIRES ON PINS A&C - ground would be B&D&E

Good luck

Sure sounds like one bank is not firing

If you lose INJECTOR POWER the engine will idle - but will not throttle up under load -- Losing injector power DOES NOT SET A DDEC ERROR CODE

There is also a TINY chance that somehow pin h2 (throttle inhibit comes active when in gear - this was a safety feature for brake interlocking



Call me if needed - home ...386..672..zero five seven one....   cell...386..299..two zero eight nine...
« Last Edit: November 23, 2009, 06:22:40 AM by RTS/Daytona » Logged

If you ain't part of the solution, then you're part of the problem.
Bestekustoms
EAGLE
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 118


1969 EAGLE 05 1967 Eagle 04 1972 Eagle 05 +More




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: November 23, 2009, 06:12:41 AM »

Great Info Guys...... I Feel Like I Learned Something Today Grin

Cant Wait To Find Out What The Problem Was..

Get That Welder, Welding Smiley 10-4

JOHN
Logged

"IT IS..... WHAT IT IS"
Bestekustoms
EAGLE
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 118


1969 EAGLE 05 1967 Eagle 04 1972 Eagle 05 +More




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: November 23, 2009, 06:15:31 AM »

WRONG POST....DA !!!!

One Down The List

MORE COFFEE   Yea More Coffee

JOHN
Logged

"IT IS..... WHAT IT IS"
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 12769




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: November 23, 2009, 06:30:56 AM »

Matt, always check your codes first that is what they are for easy to do( no harm  no foul) and gives a starting point, all the older Dallas buses I have saw were upgraded to DDEC 111  

good luck
« Last Edit: November 23, 2009, 06:42:27 AM by luvrbus » Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
MattC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 295


Recycled DART Bus 8284




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: November 23, 2009, 07:03:38 AM »

Matt, did the check engine light come on?  If so, you can check the code via the ignition switch.  I don't know the exact process, but it it something like turning on the switch a couple of times  and then the check engine light will blink out the code.  There are three numbers and you have to count the blinks for each digit.  If you can do that, we can be of more help.  Might also want to post your phone number.

TO ALL:  you should all think about converting your fuel filter system to a Fuel Pro 382

Jim

Not sure about the codes, I'll fiddle around with it.   nine one six nine three four nine zero three zero     I have one of those filters on my bus, gives me a very simple straight forward view of my filter status.  I'm told they rock, but it came that way, no credit here.  =)

Thanks,
Logged

MCI 102A3 / 6V92 / HT740
Camping in our House LOL
WL7CQH
MattC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 295


Recycled DART Bus 8284




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: November 23, 2009, 07:51:16 AM »

Short version.

Yes Left side exhaust is ambient temp.  Voltages at the battery box are 25.7 and 12.8.  

I checked both small oval plugs to the DDEC, got fractional volts on some pins. Not sure what mod it is, thought it was a DDEC II, but I'm not sure of anything.  I'll recheck after I thaw out a bit as it'sbrisk in this area, or I'm acclimated to Texas already.  LoL

Tried flipping the on switch a few times no light pattern or beeps.  Hmmmm

« Last Edit: November 23, 2009, 08:36:58 AM by MattC » Logged

MCI 102A3 / 6V92 / HT740
Camping in our House LOL
WL7CQH
RTS/Daytona
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526


Pete RTS/Daytona ->'89 TMC 35' 102" 6V92TA 4:10


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #22 on: November 23, 2009, 09:15:58 AM »

here pics of what a DDEC-II  and a DDEC-III&IV look like

actually - ddec-II has only 5 connectors - all on one side
ddec-iii and iv have 3 connectors on each end
« Last Edit: November 23, 2009, 09:38:34 AM by RTS/Daytona » Logged

If you ain't part of the solution, then you're part of the problem.
rv_safetyman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2199


Jim Shepherd


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #23 on: November 23, 2009, 09:47:35 AM »

There will be a difference on the data port as well.  The DDEC III will be a round 6 pin and the DDEC II will be a rectangular 12 pin.  If it was converted, I am not sure they would have converted the data port.  Pete gave you the pictures, so you can figure it out that way.

There is nothing you can do with the data port unless you have a specific reader.  The four wires involved are + - battery and two data wires.  Without a reader, the data on the multiplex wires can't be read and the voltages are meaningless for troubleshooting.

So, it looks like it is not fuel, since you can see the status of the filter.

You might try cycling the ECM by removing the ground wire on the battery and then reconnecting after a few seconds.

If you data port in the front is round, you could check the voltage pins "C" and "E".  That should be at least 12 volts.  Sometimes that voltage comes from a source other than the ECM, but it would still be worth checking.  If it is the 12 pin, I can send you a drawing that Pete sent to me.

If it is a DDEC III ecm, I can give you the pins to check for the supply voltage.

Jim

 
Logged

Jim Shepherd
Evergreen, CO
85 Eagle 10/Series 60/Eaton AutoShift 10 speed transmission
Somewhere between a tin tent and a finished product
Bus Project details: http://beltguy.com/Bus_Project/busproject.htm
Blog:  http://rvsafetyman.blogspot.com/
Don Fairchild
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 759




Ignore
« Reply #24 on: November 23, 2009, 09:59:28 AM »

I just got off the phone with Matt. He had checked the fuses and they all checked good, but He had some new one's so he changed them out anyway and everything is good to go. He is on the road and heading for sac.

Don
Logged
MattC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 295


Recycled DART Bus 8284




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: November 23, 2009, 10:09:26 AM »

Okies,

Pete called and held my hand through checking the pinout on the DDEC.  I had Zero volts on one side, so I replaced all three 15A fuses and she runs again.  I had visually inspected the fuses, and re-seated them earlier but somehow one was being a brat.  After they were replaced the old fuses all checked at .01ohms resistance.  So you have got me, might need to replace the holder connections.  I check that later.

Don called a couple minutes after I talked to Pete, and wasn't surprised it was the issue.  

Thanks again SO MUCH for all you who replied and called, or answered the phone.  

Coach net was pleasantly surprised when I called and canceled the expensive tow to Fresno.

Guess I'll make sure to carry plenty of extra fuses.  =)


WooHoo!  On to Sacramento.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2009, 10:11:02 AM by MattC » Logged

MCI 102A3 / 6V92 / HT740
Camping in our House LOL
WL7CQH
rv_safetyman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2199


Jim Shepherd


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #26 on: November 23, 2009, 10:31:19 AM »

That is great news.

I can't say enough about Pete.  He is a great guy and a super DDEC expert.  He has helped me a bunch with DDEC questions related to DDEC I and II.

He is just one of those quiet folks who sits in the background until someone needs help.

Thanks for being there PETE!!!

Jim
Logged

Jim Shepherd
Evergreen, CO
85 Eagle 10/Series 60/Eaton AutoShift 10 speed transmission
Somewhere between a tin tent and a finished product
Bus Project details: http://beltguy.com/Bus_Project/busproject.htm
Blog:  http://rvsafetyman.blogspot.com/
Len Silva
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4086


Angle Parked in a Parallel Universe


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #27 on: November 23, 2009, 10:40:05 AM »

You cannot trust a visual check of a fuse, especially low current fuses.  It can just be a microscopic fatigue crack in the fuse that you can't see.
Logged


Hand Made Gifts

Ignorance is only bliss to the ignorant.
Van
Billy Van Hagen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2374


89' Silver Eagle 15/40 6V92MUI Boulder City,NV




Ignore
« Reply #28 on: November 23, 2009, 12:23:57 PM »

Glad to see you are up and goin  Grin
Logged

If you are not living on the edge, then you're takin' up too much space!!!
RTS/Daytona
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526


Pete RTS/Daytona ->'89 TMC 35' 102" 6V92TA 4:10


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #29 on: November 23, 2009, 01:51:58 PM »

Truth be told

Bryce Gaston (busted Knuckels) and Jack Conrad had the right answers first

DD-6V92 with DDEC's are amazing - each BANK of injectors has a separate fuse - so losing one bank FUSE shuts down EVERY OTHER POWER STROKE - because the firing order alterates between left and right banks - the engine on idle with every other power stroke ACUALLY doesn't sound that bad - NO POWER - but doesn't sound bad - no skip no loop - just missing every other beat

Cool
« Last Edit: November 23, 2009, 07:14:01 PM by RTS/Daytona » Logged

If you ain't part of the solution, then you're part of the problem.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!