Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
July 23, 2014, 08:57:08 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: You will not incur forwarding fees when you are on the road.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 8V92 Kicker  (Read 3643 times)
PCC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 495


Serving Those Who Have Served


WWW

Ignore
« on: February 16, 2010, 02:43:54 PM »

At idle, my 8V92 will, only once in a while, kick, like it is being shut down, but only for less than a second.

Is it probably a safety, like low oil pressure switch, low water level monitor, or whatever? Or should I be thinking about something/anything else?

Runs all day long other than that.

When it kicks, it is very rare, but it happens, like when I was backing out of a tight spot today, and it kicked twice, then no problem.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 04:31:04 PM by PCC » Logged

For some, patience is a virtue.
Dealing with me, it is required.
Thank God - He is always patient.
Ednj
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 997


Ed & Sue Skiba




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2010, 05:43:40 PM »

Maybe that one was put together by Toyota!  Grin  Grin  Grin
 Roll Eyes
Logged

MCI-9
Sussex county, Delaware.
See my picture's at= http://groups.yahoo.com/group/busshellconverters/
That's Not Oil Dripping under my Bus, It's Sweat from all that Horsepower.
----- This space for rent. -----
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12061




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2010, 05:48:06 PM »

Do you have a tach if so tell us what the idle speed is it maybe set too low

good luck
Logged

Live each day like it was your last,one day it will be
PCC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 495


Serving Those Who Have Served


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2010, 06:08:41 PM »

Maybe that one was put together by Toyota!  Grin  Grin  Grin
 Roll Eyes

Not Toyota - The tag says "Yugo", (as I recall)

I checked the idle speed. It is about 437.

Thank you in advance for your wisdom.
Logged

For some, patience is a virtue.
Dealing with me, it is required.
Thank God - He is always patient.
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12061




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2010, 06:11:15 PM »

If you have a automatic it should be 650 rpm a manual transmission 500- 550 rpm

good luck
Logged

Live each day like it was your last,one day it will be
PCC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 495


Serving Those Who Have Served


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2010, 06:16:23 PM »

It is automatic, so the idle is too low, and needs to be adjusted up?? Please let me know if that is correct!

I know at fast idle, it is about 850, and never hesitates.

At speed it is smooth as can be.

So set the idle at 650??? The tach shows definitely under 500.

DO I need to adjust the fast idle as well?

Last questions - Does the ECM keep the idle speed up when the engine is cold, and drop it back based on temperature? Is that why the problem only happens after I have travelled?
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 06:19:38 PM by PCC » Logged

For some, patience is a virtue.
Dealing with me, it is required.
Thank God - He is always patient.
buswarrior
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3571


'75 MC8 8V71 HT740




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2010, 06:22:51 PM »

Hold on...

The tach on the dash is not a calibrated instrument.

You need to use the rpm readings in the DDEC ECM or on a mechanical engine, use a handheld optical tach on the flywheel to determine your real engine speed.

happy coaching!
buswarrior





Logged

Frozen North, Greater Toronto Area
PCC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 495


Serving Those Who Have Served


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2010, 06:26:38 PM »

OK - so prove my ignorance and explain to me how to retrieve the engine speed from the ECM.

The tach on the dash has an electronic feed from the ECM. Is it not accurate enough to prove it is well below 650?

Logged

For some, patience is a virtue.
Dealing with me, it is required.
Thank God - He is always patient.
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12061




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2010, 06:34:51 PM »

You got it PCC.If you have a Jake check the buffer switch and be sure the set nut hasn't come loose from the governor housing and be careful in that area that is not where you set the idle speed.
 One way to check the idle speed on a auto is if you don't have hold the brakes at a stop lite to keep from moving it is to low your engine with the hicups I would say it is to low.
Fwiw BW my Dixson tach is caibrated so is my Dixson speedometer


good luck
Logged

Live each day like it was your last,one day it will be
PCC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 495


Serving Those Who Have Served


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2010, 06:50:54 PM »

The coach moves ahead slowly. but solidly, in drive (or reverse), at idle, when brake application is released. I was backing out of a tight location when the kick happened today. I was letting it idle, or minimal throttle application to make it through the gate and into the pathway behind the business I had visited.
Logged

For some, patience is a virtue.
Dealing with me, it is required.
Thank God - He is always patient.
buswarrior
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3571


'75 MC8 8V71 HT740




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2010, 07:00:03 PM »

I'll stand by my advice. Attempting adjustments based solely on dashboard indications is bad diagnosis.

Unless you have confirmed the readings, how do you know the current accuracy of your unit?

As the miles and models go by, I have yet to see a set of matched coaches in fleet service with tachs (or other dash gauges) that all read the same from coach to coach.

MCI or Prevost, analog or digital, it matters not. Some show high, some show low, they are all running the same.

A scan tool will let you access the ECM readings, or a handheld optical tach and a piece of reflective tape on the flywheel edge lets you do it older school.

happy coaching!
buswarrior
Logged

Frozen North, Greater Toronto Area
PCC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 495


Serving Those Who Have Served


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2010, 07:06:08 PM »

Scan tool???  More info please.

I have an oil change planned at a truck service facility - should I ask them to give me an engine idle speed reading?

Is that a task that will take much time, or might they do it in just a minute or so?

Logged

For some, patience is a virtue.
Dealing with me, it is required.
Thank God - He is always patient.
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12061




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2010, 07:11:34 PM »

I have no idea where you live but most Detroit dealers will do that free for you and charge you for the work if needed


good luck
Logged

Live each day like it was your last,one day it will be
PCC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 495


Serving Those Who Have Served


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2010, 07:17:59 PM »

I shall ask them to check it out.

Thank you all.

If anyone has any other idea about this weirdness, feel free to enlighten me - won't take much.
Logged

For some, patience is a virtue.
Dealing with me, it is required.
Thank God - He is always patient.
Just Dallas
Bus Conversion Stuff on a Budget
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 842



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2010, 07:27:32 PM »

Removed
« Last Edit: July 15, 2010, 11:38:43 AM by Now Just Dallas » Logged

I'm just an old chunk of coal... but I'm gonna be a diamond someday.
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!