Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
November 26, 2014, 12:47:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: The dog will not eat it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Uh oh....Fuel pressure issue  (Read 4492 times)
wayneswirld2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


If it ain't broke, break it and fix it!




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2010, 01:17:15 PM »

As for a module...there is a black box with connectors on the right side of it that is mounted sort of beneath and forward of the turbocharger, between the banks.  Looks like a module of some sort.  Smells like a module, tastes like a module...must be a module.

I'm guessing that this would be some sort of ECM for the fuel delivery system?  Dagnabbit, am I gonna be looking for one of these in a bus boneyard?

Wayne
Logged

IF it ain't broke, don't fix it.  But then again, if it's on your bus...do some damned maintenance to it.  It'll break eventually.
PCC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 495


Serving Those Who Have Served


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2010, 01:43:50 PM »

Do not presume it even could be the ECM until you have exhausted every other possibility.

Make sure that your fuel is running through the rack. Make sure you have everything else working. After looking at everything, find a dealer who can 'test' your ECM, before putting your millions on the table.

I was just mentioning that it might be an un-fuel related problem (one possibility).

It just happened to be my personal situation.

Keith
PCC
Logged

For some, patience is a virtue.
Dealing with me, it is required.
Thank God - He is always patient.
wayneswirld2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


If it ain't broke, break it and fix it!




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2010, 03:50:28 PM »

I'm all too aware of ECM problems.  Being a bonafied died in the wool ASE Master Tech, gas engines only, I've run into my fair share of "Oh hell it MUST be the computer" worries.  I'll spend more time with the bus this weekend, AFTER the 'gathering' that Dallas and Cat are having.

Wayne
Logged

IF it ain't broke, don't fix it.  But then again, if it's on your bus...do some damned maintenance to it.  It'll break eventually.
RTS/Daytona
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526


Pete RTS/Daytona ->'89 TMC 35' 102" 6V92TA 4:10


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #18 on: February 19, 2010, 04:15:07 PM »

If you have an AIR THROTTLE - then you will most always have a MUI (non-DDEC) D/D

IF you have a CHECK ENGINE LITE (CEL)  you should have a DDEC - the CEL should blink a few times when the bus is first turned on
there should also be a momentary style bat switch up front to pull or down to blick out the DDEC error codes 


here what a DDEC-II and DDEC-IV look like
« Last Edit: February 19, 2010, 04:26:25 PM by RTS/Daytona » Logged

If you ain't part of the solution, then you're part of the problem.
RTS/Daytona
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526


Pete RTS/Daytona ->'89 TMC 35' 102" 6V92TA 4:10


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #19 on: February 19, 2010, 04:47:26 PM »

If you have an MUI (NON DDEC) DETROIT 6V92T

here another thing to check - if you hit the emergency shutdown switch by mistake - they have to be manually reset  (i think - I'm a DDEC guy)
Logged

If you ain't part of the solution, then you're part of the problem.
Just Dallas
Bus Conversion Stuff on a Budget
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 842



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2010, 04:55:22 PM »

Removed
« Last Edit: July 15, 2010, 11:21:32 AM by Now Just Dallas » Logged

I'm just an old chunk of coal... but I'm gonna be a diamond someday.
wayneswirld2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


If it ain't broke, break it and fix it!




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: February 19, 2010, 07:11:34 PM »

I've spoken to Mr. Bishop a couple times over the past two days, he's pointed me in some very RIGHT directions.  AND with my almost negative amount of knowledge he's been very patient.  I'll probably be calling him again, and damned soon, to ask very nicely for some more guidance.  Either that or I'll burn the bus to the ground.....

Wayne
Logged

IF it ain't broke, don't fix it.  But then again, if it's on your bus...do some damned maintenance to it.  It'll break eventually.
PCC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 495


Serving Those Who Have Served


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #22 on: February 19, 2010, 10:18:54 PM »

ASK - just ask

Ask has fewer letters than burn.
Logged

For some, patience is a virtue.
Dealing with me, it is required.
Thank God - He is always patient.
brando4905
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 227



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #23 on: February 20, 2010, 06:14:01 AM »

I'm not an expert on buses, but I did used to have a Dodge 2500 that was a veggie burner. If the PO was attempting to run a grease system with no extra filtering, no switches, and no heaters, then the entire fuel system could be restricted with hardened WVO.
Logged

1980 GMC H8H-649  8V71/V730 Marion,NC

"The highway is for gamblers, better use your sense" -Dylan
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12916




Ignore
« Reply #24 on: February 20, 2010, 06:17:29 AM »

Check you water level in the surge tank and fill it to the top


good luck
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
robertglines1
steam nut
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4037





Ignore
« Reply #25 on: February 20, 2010, 06:26:18 AM »

2nd on surge tank...I know from experience...more often than not it's simple..
Logged

Bob@Judy  98 XLE prevost with 3 slides --Home done---last one! SW INdiana
wayneswirld2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


If it ain't broke, break it and fix it!




Ignore
« Reply #26 on: February 20, 2010, 06:32:32 AM »

To risk sounding like a complete dumb@ss....the surge tank is.........?

Wayne
Logged

IF it ain't broke, don't fix it.  But then again, if it's on your bus...do some damned maintenance to it.  It'll break eventually.
RTS/Daytona
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526


Pete RTS/Daytona ->'89 TMC 35' 102" 6V92TA 4:10


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #27 on: February 20, 2010, 06:37:06 AM »

radiator water tank

MUST BE filled to the OVERFLOW PORT or SITE GLASS
Logged

If you ain't part of the solution, then you're part of the problem.
wayneswirld2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


If it ain't broke, break it and fix it!




Ignore
« Reply #28 on: February 20, 2010, 06:41:01 AM »

I sort of assumed that the surge was coolant related, but given that I'm in uncharted territory I'm not gonna assume ANYTHING....yet.

Thanks,
Wayne
Logged

IF it ain't broke, don't fix it.  But then again, if it's on your bus...do some damned maintenance to it.  It'll break eventually.
RTS/Daytona
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526


Pete RTS/Daytona ->'89 TMC 35' 102" 6V92TA 4:10


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #29 on: February 20, 2010, 06:57:19 AM »

One of the first things that you may want to do is:


#1  -     Make sure your batteries are charged - Make sure the oil and water and FUEL -   is full  !!!!!!

#2  -     It's usually best to try start from the rear when your having a problem
            check the switchwes in the engine compartment - usually there are 2

         * ENGINE CONTROL  (or something similar)  - (NORMAL - OFF - REAR RUN)  
            set it to REAR RUN    
            (when you are all done - return this switch to NORMAL after you fix the problem - or you will not be able to run the bus from the front)
         * START CONTROL  (or something similar)  -  (NORMAL -OFF - REAR START
            REAR START is a momentary switch - push to turn over the engine (there is often a few second delay) -
            (when you are all done - return this switch to NORMAL after you fix the problem - or you will not be able to start the bus from the front)


#3  -    If the engine turned over but didn't start  - The next thing THAT I WOULD DO is:
 
           Locate the secondary filter - they will usually have a 1/4 pipe plug between the inlet and outlet lines
           - remove the plug and install at least a 0-60 PSI pressure gauge - worst case get a schrader valve adater to screw in and use a tire gauge

           - With the engine turning over - you should get about 10-20 lbs of fuel pressure - if not re-PRIME from the primary filter


Pete RTS/Daytona
« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 07:03:27 AM by RTS/Daytona » Logged

If you ain't part of the solution, then you're part of the problem.
Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!