Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
July 22, 2014, 01:59:38 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If your computer is lost, damaged, or stolen, we will replace all of your E-Mags for free.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Thinking of Buying an MC8  (Read 4518 times)
ToppDog

Ignore
« on: April 14, 2010, 02:08:01 AM »

Hello everyone!

I'm a total newbie here, so forgive me if I come off as if I don't know anything, because I don't Smiley

Anyway, I've wanted to have a custom RV made from a bus since I was a kid, & this year I told the wife the tax refund money was mine, since she got to say how it was spent last year.  I found an MCI MC8 Crusader for sale for $5,000 with the following description:

"1976 MC-8 47 passenger motor coach with restroom. 8V71 Detroit Diesel with very few miles since rebuild. Allison Auto Transmission, new tires, starts quickly and runs well."

Here are the pics from the ad:

I did take a look at it, but I didn't really know much about what I should be looking for.  I only saw 2 very small bubbling spots under the paint, & what appeared to be very superficial rust on the axles & where the paint had worn in spots on the main beams inside the cargo bays.  Both front & rear bumpers didn't line up precisely, but I don't know if that means there is structural damage behind them, or if they just need readjusted.  When I opened the cargo door & felt the flooring closest to the opening, it felt wet, but not rotten, & the inside did smell musty.