Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
September 30, 2014, 09:17:15 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: 500 Members as of May 5th, 2006.  Smiley  3,499 Members as of October 21, 2012 Cheesy

   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How to Install 50 Amp Service at Home?  (Read 8623 times)
James77MCI8
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 338





Ignore
« Reply #15 on: July 19, 2010, 05:38:27 PM »

# 6 white and # 8 ground in separate conduit back to panel will probably be cheaper than re-pulling it all. i'd also check with a local electrical supply house on the wire pricing. The big box stores aren't always the cheapest.
Logged

77 MCI 8
8V-71 4 spd
Len Silva
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4086


Angle Parked in a Parallel Universe


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2010, 06:48:55 PM »

# 6 white and # 8 ground in separate conduit back to panel will probably be cheaper than re-pulling it all. i'd also check with a local electrical supply house on the wire pricing. The big box stores aren't always the cheapest.

Sorry, but you definitely don't want to do that.  It is a code violation for a very good reason.  If they were in metallic conduit run side by side, you could get inductive heating in the conduit.  All the conductors for a circuit must be in the same conduit.
Logged


Hand Made Gifts

Ignorance is only bliss to the ignorant.
84bluebird
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2010, 06:58:39 PM »

http://www.myrv.us/electric/index.htm
Logged

John
James77MCI8
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 338





Ignore
« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2010, 07:26:27 PM »

Option # 2

Up size you conduit to accept all your conductors. PVC conduit is much less per foot than copper wire.
Logged

77 MCI 8
8V-71 4 spd
Len Silva
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4086


Angle Parked in a Parallel Universe


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #19 on: July 20, 2010, 06:45:02 AM »

Something like this might work for you.
Logged


Hand Made Gifts

Ignorance is only bliss to the ignorant.
trucktramp
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 261




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: July 20, 2010, 07:00:54 AM »

That really needs a couple pennies to replace those fuses  Grin Grin
Logged

Dennis Watson
KB8KNP
Scotts, Michigan
1966 MCI MC5A
8V71
Spicer 4 Speed Manual
gumpy
Some Assembly Required
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3258


Slightly modified 1982 MC9


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #21 on: July 20, 2010, 07:37:19 AM »

Something like this might work for you.

Hey, I just put that in my bus. Someone stole my photo!
Logged

Craig Shepard
Located in Minnesquito

http://bus.gumpydog.com - "Some Assembly Required"
bobofthenorth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2085



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #22 on: July 20, 2010, 11:25:09 AM »

That looks like the box we plug into when we stay at Murray & Jill's place west of Saskatoon.  I got tired of putting a penny under the fuses so I bought some screw in circuit breakers for them.  If I wasn't such a cheap SOB I'd put in a new box - maybe this fall.
Logged

R.J.(Bob) Evans
1981 Prevost 8-92, 10 spd
My website
Our weblog
Simply growing older is not the same as living.
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!