Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 01, 2014, 07:17:21 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If your computer is lost, damaged, or stolen, we will replace all of your E-Mags for free.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: onan commercial 6500 generator  (Read 3756 times)
rampeyboy

1954 Scenicruiser PD4501-227

Ignore
« on: August 18, 2010, 03:20:47 PM »

Guys I have run across one for $100, but something is locked up. I'm not too afraid of gambling a $100 on it, but my concern is this...the dataplate says 120/240 3 phase. Reading online, it looks like it can be used as single phase or 3 phase. I'm no electrician, and wonder if someone here can shed some light on this for me? Should I walk or run! haha

Boyce Rampey
Columbia, SC
Scenicruiser 227
desi arnaz

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2010, 04:04:26 PM »

if you need to shed light on it,go buy a flashlight......

thomas f  Bethlehem n.h
steve wardwell

73 MCI 7 8/71T combo just happy to be here

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2010, 04:08:54 PM »

I bought a German schooner with a 6kw onan in it. 50 hertz, 220 volts. One line out some 45 ish amps if I can remember Huh when I rewired the boat to 50/ 240 I had to open it up at the brain box and separate (I think) one wire from another  which then became  the two separate leads for 50 amp 120 volt 7.5 kw onan then I had to speed up the engine to get to 60 hertz  ( i think it was at like 1500 rpm and went to 1800 rpm) found it in the manual .. I know that onan was pricey to maintain    .hope this helps   P.S. It's coming back now we over the years had 3 different 7.5 onans. 2 cyls the one thing other than the $ to keep em up was that they were always unscrewing them selves and sorta falling apart and really LOUD....mind you these were all marine  with keel cooling