Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
September 30, 2014, 08:49:29 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription:  It will not get lost in the mail.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Don't throw away cordless drill battery yet until you try this Part II  (Read 2102 times)
vonoretn

Ignore
« on: September 30, 2010, 11:59:03 AM »

I'm starting this topic over since the previous one is over 120 days old.  I have been rebuilding drill batteries for a couple of years.  I am not a professional power pack rebuilder, but here are my observations about zapping the power packs with current.  I am not recommending anything that I discuss, as doing it wrong could be hazardous if you don't have sufficient electrical knowledge.

1. The procedure of zapping power packs with high amperage works sometimes.  It is true that you burn off internal oxides, conductive whiskers inside the batteries that short them out internally faster than you can charge them. 
2.  It often does not work when you zap the whole power pack, because almost all of these power packs are made up of a series of 1.2 volt sub C NiCad cells.  Sometimes some of these cells are just shot.  That is they will act like a short, instead of a battery, and they cannot be saved by zapping them with current.   

3. Occasionally but more rarely a battery will act like a capacitor, or an off switch and stop the series current from charging the other batteries. 
4. My procedure is to open up the power packs, which you can usually do by removing 4 or more screws.