Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 01, 2014, 09:20:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: 500 Members as of May 5th, 2006.  Smiley  3,499 Members as of October 21, 2012 Cheesy

Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What I want to build/convert (take a deep breath)  (Read 2896 times)
mdainsd

Ignore
« on: September 01, 2006, 02:32:47 PM »

OK, let me preface this whole thing with the following disclaimer:

I am a nut for all things mechanical, especially things you can drive and enjoy. I am an Engineer by trade. I have designed my own off road trucks with ideas at the time deemed "too far out", but now are common place. My quad (4 wheel av) only has the factory engine/transmission, spindles and brakes. Everything esle including the shock absorbers were built by me. I always strive to have something very unique.

OK, enough of that.

After investing alot of time researching and inspecting anything I could get my hands on, I have decided I want to go with a Prevost. The problem is, they dont make the model I want, so I guess I have to do it myself. It starts with a garden veriety H5-60. The plan is to cut the rear most portion of the "trailer unit" and graft it onto the back of the "main portion"

WHY would anyone in their right mind even concider doing that?Huh Shocked

lets take a look:

First a rendering of the stock H5-60

Then I took the liberty of modifying Mr McLaughlan's illustration, into my "artist rendering":

Now the pros and cons:

Cons first:

8V92 power plant (dont get cranky, I would just prefer a series 60 Wink)
mid engine layout, servicablity issues not to mention the eventual engine change out.
a LOT of work to pull this off. But you guys encourage me, so you need to share some of the blame!

Pros: