Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 21, 2014, 08:10:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: You will not have to go out in the rain, sleet, hail, or snow to retrieve it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Allison World Trans  (Read 2154 times)
Tom Y
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 881


80 5C With Cummins L10 in Progress




Ignore
« on: December 21, 2010, 02:04:51 PM »

I currently have a 740 behind my Cummins L10. With tranny prices down on the 6 speed transmissions I am thinking of changing. I know I will not re coupe the cost in fuel, but I do like the idea of an overdrive. And I am hoping to up my mileage. Does anyone have any knowledge of adapter to change from a #2 to a #1 bellhousings? I have a #1 on my Cummins. Any other thoughts?  Thanks Tom Y 
Logged

Tom Yaegle
c-coop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2010, 02:27:33 PM »

the allison is also a #1 housing, should bolt right up
Logged
Tom Y
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 881


80 5C With Cummins L10 in Progress




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2010, 05:32:49 PM »

Yes, But the ones I am finding affordable have a #2 bell. Thanks
Logged

Tom Yaegle
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 12731




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2010, 05:39:42 PM »

Any engine dealer should have the drop down ring I know DD sells one 210 bucks last I bought you would think Cummins would also have a drop ring 


good luck
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
kwidd
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2010, 06:55:16 PM »

Allison has all the adapters for the world to the Cummins L10/M11.
Logged
RJ
Former Giant Greenbrier Owner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2844





Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2010, 07:44:51 PM »

Tom -

Does your L10 have electronic controls?

TTBOMK, the World uses ATEC, which has to talk to DDEC, CERT, etc., in order to function properly.

FWIW & HTH. . .

 Wink
Logged

RJ Long
PD4106-2784 No More
Fresno CA
NEO/Russ
NEO/Russ
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 83




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2010, 07:47:26 PM »

Tom, if you find just the transmission you may want to drop me a note.  I have a new ECU, new accumulator, water/oil cooler and a few other parts.  If new I usually ask half of what they sell for at the dealer.  You can get ahold of me by my profile.

Merry Christmas,

Russ
Logged

Well no longer a bus nut, but over the years I learned a lot here and still come back to see what I can apply to the conversion of my KW T2000 for hauling my Teton fifth wheeler.
busguy01
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 163




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2010, 11:58:40 PM »

and I have a B500 with no electroics for sale.
JimH

Hi Jim,
I removed the price as it conflicts with fourm rules.
You can PM any inquires or list your item on BCM's
web site.
Thank You
Nick-
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 01:01:26 PM by Nick Badame Refrig. Co. » Logged

Started with nothing - still have most of it left!
1963 Eagle 01 with Detroit 60 series done (Gone-sold!)
MCI EL3 in progress. raised roof & Slides
2009 Revolution 42 Sticks and staple
Summer - Yankton, South Dakota
Winter- Port St Lucie, Florida
Tom Y
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 881


80 5C With Cummins L10 in Progress




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2010, 01:30:31 PM »

Thanks everyone!!! My L10 is electronic..... so am I good or do I need to look more? I thought pedal position was all I needed. I am also thinking now of a #2 bell for my Cummins instead of an adapter. The MD 3000 MH is rated for 1250 ft lb max which is what I have. But I know it will fit in my 5C, The 4000 and 5000 series I am not so sure about. The width is tight with the 3000 series.  Thanks Again.  Tom Y 
Logged

Tom Yaegle
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6852





Ignore
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2010, 01:45:37 PM »

3000HS is an excellent transmission. As long as you keep it under 450hp and 1250lb/ft torque, it is rated up to 80,000lbs.  We have many running in L.A. and Long Beach, Ca port with natural gas engines at 320hp and 1,000lb/ft torque.  That transmission will give you many years of use.  Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 12731




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: December 22, 2010, 01:53:56 PM »

Still going to be a challenge for you on the gearing if your 5 still has the drop box not much to choose from in the way of gearing with that setup,the rv's using the 3000 with a Cummins had 4:56 gears.
The World family of transmissions will not go into to overdrive till the output shaft is turning faster than the input shaft no way to change that, you will still have a 4 speed 90% of the time with 3:73 gears 



good luck
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 02:22:38 PM by luvrbus » Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
c-coop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2010, 03:13:47 PM »

tom  I installed a b500 in my mc9 with 373 gears and it runs great.  1400rpms at 75mph If there is heavy head winds I just drop it to 5th. Only communication between the engine and trans on mine is the throttle position sensor. shifts great
Logged
Tom Y
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 881


80 5C With Cummins L10 in Progress




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2010, 04:26:30 PM »

So with my 3:38 gears and 11r 24.5 tires am I wasting my time? I had 4:10 gears to start with.  Thanks Tom     
Logged

Tom Yaegle
Tom Y
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 881


80 5C With Cummins L10 in Progress




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2010, 05:02:49 PM »

Luvrbus, How can it ever shift out of 4th gear? With a 1 to1 ratio, output shaft can never go faster than input shaft right?Huh  Thanks Tom
Logged

Tom Yaegle
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 12731




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2010, 05:23:34 PM »

I should have been clearer it is turbine shaft speed they have a sensor to pick it up, you may can make it work I just know 4:56 is the preferred gear ratio you do see a few with a 4:30 but not many.
IMO you would spend a lot of money and may not like the results drop boxes limit you for gear ratios,but again it is your bus and your money  

good luck
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 05:52:38 PM by luvrbus » Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
Tom Y
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 881


80 5C With Cummins L10 in Progress




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: December 22, 2010, 06:13:14 PM »

Luvrbus, I thankyou for your ideas. I am not sure of this project yet and I WELLCOME   ALL   thoughts. I am at +1700rpms at 65 now. If I can just use the .75 over I will be about +1300 rpm. Or about my 50 mph rpm.   Thanks Tom Y
Logged

Tom Yaegle
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!