Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
August 28, 2014, 10:19:07 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: It will not be stolen by your mailman or your neighbor who also may be into buses.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Greasing springs  (Read 2738 times)
opus

Ignore
« on: May 02, 2011, 06:41:40 PM »

So most of you have air bag suspension but I thought I would give it a go. I have a big handful of spring bushings I cant get grease in.  No rust or caked grease in them.  I have tried everything.  Any tricks that I might not have heard of? 

Now before you start with new zerks or lifting the weight off, etc, I have a lot of mechanical experience, heavy equipment, ranch stuff and so on, so skip the simple ideas.  Smiley

1995 BB All-American - A Transformation.
robertglines1
steam nut

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2011, 07:10:54 PM »

they make a grease driver /gun you strike with a hammer to drive grease thru a zerk once you break the jam you can use a regular grease gun. I've had mine for years. Think it came from napa.

Bob@Judy  98 XLE prevost with 3 slides --Home done---last one! SW INdiana
bevans6

1980 MCI MC-5C

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2011, 07:15:47 PM »

One of my go-to's is to load a really good grease gun or a hydraulic pump with something like Marvel Mystery Oil and pump that in with a direct connect hose (no zerk fitting, high pressure hose to the NPT hole direct) and apply 20 or 30 tons of pressure with the thin oil.

Somethings gonna give, you just hope it's the caked up grease!

Brian

1980 MCI MC-5C, 8V-71T from a M-110 self propelled howitzer
Spicer 8844 4 speed Zen meditation device
Vintage race cars -
1978 Lola T440 Formula Ford
1972 NTM MK-4 B/SR
opus

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2011, 07:24:03 PM »