Bus Conversion Magazine Bulletin Board
April 24, 2018, 10:16:43 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription:  It will not get lost in the mail.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Roof AC hole size  (Read 4510 times)
demodriver
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526




Ignore
« on: May 28, 2011, 06:42:51 AM »

Ok I scored two FREE roof top AC units yesterday. They are a little old but they are FREE!

So my question. If these things die in a year are the holes that I cut for them going to be a standard size?  I had planned on putting them in the vent/emergency exit holes but those holes are alot bigger then what the AC require.  Thanks ahead of time.
Logged
Len Silva
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4086


Angle Parked in a Parallel Universe


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2011, 06:47:18 AM »

I think that roof air holes are standard at 14" x 14".
Logged


Hand Made Gifts

Ignorance is only bliss to the ignorant.
rv_safetyman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2199


Jim Shepherd


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2011, 06:55:26 AM »

As far as I know, the opening for all RV roof ACs has always been 14" by 14".

I installed our ACs in the emergency openings and built a square tube frame insert that I welded into the opening.  Filled in the opening with some scrap aluminum.

There has been a lot of discussion about removing the emergency opening.  Could be a problem is you lay your bus on the passenger side.  I have my old emergency hatch, but have not justified installing it again.  There is not much room anymore with three ACs, TV dome, Datastorm, and three solar panels on the roof.  

I figure there will be something that I can climb on to get out the RV window or I will kick out the windshield.  That may be a wishful thought process.

Jim
Logged

Jim Shepherd
Evergreen, CO
85 Eagle 10/Series 60/Eaton AutoShift 10 speed transmission
Somewhere between a tin tent and a finished product
Bus Project details: http://beltguy.com/Bus_Project/busproject.htm
Blog:  http://rvsafetyman.blogspot.com/
blank
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1929




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2011, 07:03:31 AM »

  Once I get the AC's off the roof ill put in crank up roof vents, something like Fantastics. Still have the original escape hatch in the back, and the two fronts and two rear windows will remain, including the windows emergency escape bars.
Logged
demodriver
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2011, 07:06:01 AM »

thanks for the info.

How long should I give the unit to settle before I plug it in to test it out?  We removed them about 12 hours ago and had to put them on there side.
Logged
blank
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1929




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2011, 07:08:04 AM »

  Some say 20 minutes. In reality they often dont take more than a minute or two. 12 hours is surely enough time.
Logged
JohnEd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4571




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2011, 11:57:57 AM »

Call Camping World and talk to the service manager.  Toll free you understand.
Logged

"An uneducated vote is a treasonous act more damaging than any treachery of the battlefield.
The price of apathy towards public affairs is to be ruled by evil men." Plato
We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light.
Pla
demodriver
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2011, 03:24:22 PM »

well one units compressor wont kick in but the other one (the newer one) blows 40 degree air.  I got it about half of the way installed before the storms rolled in and haulted progress. 

Is there any way to determine what the problem is with the one units compressor not kicking on? I cant find any name or info on the unit whats so ever. Its a older unit and hasnt been ran for years.


thanks in advance
Logged
Barn Owl
Roanoke, VA
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2080


PD4106-1063 "Wheezy Bus"




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2011, 04:22:18 PM »

Low freon will cause the compressor not to engage. I have two 1979 Durotherms on my bus and I had to line tap one and give it a shot of R22. They don't take much, it's easy to do and the manual is on the net. I am not sure if you can get R22 anymore (non-licensed), I got mine right before big brother got tough on it, but you might have connections to someone who does.
Logged

L. Christley - W3EYE Amateur Extra
Blue Ridge Mountains, S.W. Virginia
Its the education gained, and the ability to apply, and share, what we learn.
Have fun, be great, that way you have Great Fun!
demodriver
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2011, 07:42:38 PM »

In high school I worked for a HVAC company. They are pertty good about hooking me up with deals on things still.  I know that they would help me out with the non working one but I thought I might be able to diagnose it with some help from you guys.  I just have to wate til tuesday and hope they have time and I am going on another short trip this friday morning.

thanks
Logged
Barn Owl
Roanoke, VA
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2080


PD4106-1063 "Wheezy Bus"




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2011, 05:45:37 PM »

Can you give us more information? Does the blower fan work? Does the compressor run but without cooling? etc. Can you be more specific on what "kicks on" means? We need more details to find out which part of the A/C system has failed so we can better help.
Logged

L. Christley - W3EYE Amateur Extra
Blue Ridge Mountains, S.W. Virginia
Its the education gained, and the ability to apply, and share, what we learn.
Have fun, be great, that way you have Great Fun!
demodriver
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2011, 07:42:01 PM »

It does everything except blow cold air. It does blow but the air is not cooled.  I figured there is a way to check and see if the compressor is working but I didnt know how.

thanks
Logged
eagle19952
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3521




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2011, 11:16:14 PM »

It does everything except blow cold air....

Check to see if the evaporator is gooped up/clogged with dust.....is it frozen....like it needs "defrosted" then its plugged up....
Logged

Donald PH
1978 Model 05 Eagle w/Torsilastic Suspension,8V71 N, DD, Allison on 24.5's 12kw Kubota.
chev49
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 763




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2011, 02:12:25 AM »

you might try taking the cover off and plugging it in and feeling the compressor to see if its vibrating... and checking the lines going into it to see if one is hot n one is cold.... and u can get a gauge set to test the high n low sides...tis no different than a normal house frig or car a/c system or even a roof top unit on a strip mall..
not that i ever liked working on those when it was 110... Sad
Logged

If you want someone to hold your hand, join a union.
Union with Christ is the best one...
demodriver
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2011, 05:53:11 AM »

I have already took it apart and cleaned and it was nasty. Its all clear now and you can see thru the coils.

compressor isnt vibrating and no lines are either cold or hot.

thanks
Logged
Van
SPICEY MEATBALL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2541





Ignore
« Reply #15 on: May 31, 2011, 05:08:01 AM »

Start capacitor maybe? Is there even one of those in there? I'm guessing here.
Logged

Ex 1989 Model 15 Predator class War Bird owner
chev49
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 763




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: May 31, 2011, 09:09:02 AM »

i would suspect either the capacitor or the compressor motor itself if it has electricity going to it... have you checked to make sure you actually got elect at comp? motor should at least try to run if it n the capac is good, then maybe shut off..
Logged

If you want someone to hold your hand, join a union.
Union with Christ is the best one...
blank
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1929




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: May 31, 2011, 09:15:15 AM »

  Maybe check resistance at the motor terminals to see if its open or shorted?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!