Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
September 19, 2014, 02:58:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: It will not get torn up or crushed if you back over it with your bus.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Adding King Cruise to Air Throttle  (Read 2047 times)
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6784





Ignore
« on: August 19, 2011, 10:23:03 PM »

Even though my air throttle on my bus is very easy to push, I still wanted a cruise control.  I chose the King Cruise since it is used by many truckers in the past.  King suggests mounting the control box right near the engine and having it control the governor directly.  Problem is with an air throttle, just pulling the governor bypasses the air operated Allison automatic throttle modulator.  My solution is I mounted the King Cruise control box on the passenger side under the windshield with the control cable going down through the floor, then looping back up through the floor just under the gas pedal.  I made a metal extension on the pedal at the top with a larger hole then the cable so the cable could slide when I'm gassing with my foot.  Then with the cruise control, it pulls down on the gas pedal directly to control the speed.  Works well, and I can also use the cruise control for fast idle. Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
Gary '79 5C
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 613




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2011, 04:41:56 AM »

TomC,

Great Job to adapt the unit to your needs !! Many items on my bus I have worked on, and others I have gone thru understanding the operation, while it works, for that on the side of the road, when it does not....

Now if only I can get the cruise operational on my '83 MB.....
Logged

Experience is something you get Just after you needed it....
Ocean City, NJ
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12490




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2011, 06:57:39 AM »

FWIW the King comes with instructions now to mount to pedal also they finally gave up and said it was ok lol
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6784





Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2011, 07:33:35 AM »

Gary-I understand your frustrations with the MB cruise control.  I have an '84 300 turbodiesel (with only 388,000mi-no overhaul yet) and the cruise can be expensive.  The speedo cable has to be lubed properly.  I can't use mine when it is under 65 degrees since it surges when cold.  But-since I live in L.A.-how often can you use the cruise anyway?  Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
Melbo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1070


MC8 under construction




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2011, 08:19:34 AM »

That is what I had to do with my L10 --- much simpler really because you don't need to run the wires all the way to the back of the bus for the control unit.

Melbo
Logged

If it won't go FORCE it ---- if it breaks it needed to be replaced anyway
Albuquerque, NM   MC8 L10 Cummins ZF
Hard Headed Ken
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 309


1988 Prevost Angola Conversion Repowered With 14L Series 60 & Eaton Ultrashift


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2011, 02:29:11 PM »

TomC

That's the way I did mine on my 4104 many years ago, last time I spoke with the current owner it was still working fine.

Ken
Logged

Link to my engine swap slide show

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oxAFFBcoTQI
gus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3510





Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2011, 12:51:52 PM »

Tom,

Tell me more about the air modulator on the Allison.

I don't think my V730 has one, this may be the reason it has some strange operation characteristics?
Logged

PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR
gus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3510





Ignore
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2011, 02:48:36 PM »

Tom,

It is beginning to appear that I don't have a V730, it sounds more and more like a VS2-8?
Logged

PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6784





Ignore
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2011, 08:28:56 AM »

Gus-here's a picture of a V730.  The VS2-8 will have a smaller housing with many bolts holding it together.  The VS2-8 will shift 1st converter, 2nd lockup, 3rd lockup with no control of gears.  The V730 will shift 1st conveter, 2nd converter, 2nd lockup, 3rd lockup with a shifter that is R-N-3-2-1.  Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
hargreaves
1987 MCI 102A3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 299





Ignore
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2011, 09:34:51 AM »

Hi Tom , how long did it take for you to install the King Cruise?  Just traveled across the country and my Knee definitely needs a break.
Logged

now as of Feb 2012 series 50 B400  . Sunshine Coast British Columbia
uncle ned
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 909



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2011, 10:58:03 AM »



Tom  Is the charge air cooler in front of your radiator.

If so how did you get your fan so close to the engine.

I am trying to place one on my 04. Right now I was looking to place it on the passenger side.
But i have my trans. cooler there.

Not much room in a 04.

uncle ned
Logged

4104's forever
6v92 v730
Huggy Bear
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6784





Ignore
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2011, 11:46:48 AM »

Hargreaves-I had to add a speedometer generator.  King cruise makes a through drive model-so you take off the original speedometer generator from the transmission, mount the King cruise generator, then the original speedometer generator mounts on top of the King Cruise generator.  You have to run two wires from the engine compartment up to the driver's compartment.  I also had to put a 100ohm resistor in line of the brake light switch since I have LED lights that don't pull enough amps for the King Cruise to sense.  Other then that it was pretty straight forward.  Pretty much took two days to install with the bus up on blocks in the front to run the cable.

Uncle Ned- My AMGeneral transit was made in both 96" and 102" wide versions.  With the 102" version, they basically kept the engine in the same place but moved over to the right.  So I have about 6" in front of the radiator for the air to air.  AMGeneral also with the B model mounted the A/C condenser in front of the radiator (which didn't work well-overheated the engine), so the bolts holes for the condenser were there that I used to mount the air to air.  Was relatively easy-just had to have the intercooler custom made (which was about $750.00).  Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
hargreaves
1987 MCI 102A3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 299





Ignore
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2011, 12:19:42 PM »

i have a front wheel sensor for my speedo, will it work if I tap into that line?
Logged

now as of Feb 2012 series 50 B400  . Sunshine Coast British Columbia
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12490




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2011, 12:39:45 PM »

Yep they have unit just for that

good luck
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
hargreaves
1987 MCI 102A3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 299





Ignore
« Reply #14 on: August 22, 2011, 12:59:33 PM »

Thanks guys, I ordered it and will install in Kalamazoo and test it out on the way Home.
Logged

now as of Feb 2012 series 50 B400  . Sunshine Coast British Columbia
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!