Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
September 20, 2014, 03:07:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: It will not get torn up or crushed if you back over it with your bus.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Cruise King Cruise Control  (Read 2132 times)
Ed Hackenbruch
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2402




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2012, 04:34:29 PM »

Bungee cords on the steering wheel and a stick or rock on the pedal. Grin
Logged

1968 MCI 5A with 8V71 and Allison MT644 transmission.  Western USA
belfert
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5440




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2012, 05:04:24 PM »

I don't have or want cruise control on anything that i own. Smiley

I would never buy a vehicle that didn't have cruise control.  That is just me I guess.  I just got back a few minutes ago from a 600 mile round trip in my car.  It would have killed me to not have cruise control for that trip. 

I would never have bought my bus if it didn't have cruise control.  I couldn't hack 4,000 mile road trips without cruise.  My bus has an electronic engine so the cruise is built into the engine computer.  I flew down to Atlanta a bit over two years to see Ruthi's bus.  The rental car I got didn't have cruise and I couldn't stand it on the four hour round trip to see the bus.  I didn't realize at rental time there was no cruise so I couldn't get another rental.  (I didn't even realize any new cars with automatic trannys don't have cruise these days.)
Logged

Brian Elfert - 1995 Dina Viaggio 1000 Series 60/B500 - 75% done but usable - Minneapolis, MN
chev49
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 763




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: February 12, 2012, 07:06:43 AM »

 Grin
Logged

If you want someone to hold your hand, join a union.
Union with Christ is the best one...
hargreaves
1987 MCI 102A3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 299





Ignore
« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2012, 08:31:56 AM »

Fred, I have air throttle but all that is coming out as I have installed a S50 and no longer require it.  the amount of pull it will require on a mechanical pedal is a lot less than required when mounting straight to the gov.  I mounted it in the spare tire compartment and ran the cable up through the floor near the top of the throttle pedal. I used the brake switch mounted in the same compartment. Just used 24 volt relays to step it down to 12 volts.  I Used the front wheel speedo sensor that I tapped off the back of the speedo.  Works Great .   

Gerry
Logged

now as of Feb 2012 series 50 B400  . Sunshine Coast British Columbia
chev49
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 763




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2012, 11:43:40 AM »

I was thinking of installing a cruise control on mine, and was just looking at the ft wheel speed sensor last week and wondering if i could tap into that wiring... that would make the instillation so easy... Is that how you did it, just hook up your speed pickup wire to the ft wheel sensor wire?
Logged

If you want someone to hold your hand, join a union.
Union with Christ is the best one...
gus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3510





Ignore
« Reply #20 on: February 12, 2012, 06:43:30 PM »

Yeah, I used to be hardheaded about AT and cruise control too, but I finally came to my senses and now wouldn't go without either. I physically have to have something like a cruise because my leg can't take it.

Please explain why the King needs high amperage, don't understand that one?
Logged

PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12497




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: February 12, 2012, 06:50:23 PM »

No one said it needed high amperage just a power supply to the brain

good luck
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
bobofthenorth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2082



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #22 on: February 13, 2012, 07:52:46 AM »

That was me that said it draws a lot of power. I don't have a book for it but I'm guessing 8-10 amps. Not "high amperage" but not a trivial draw either.
Logged

R.J.(Bob) Evans
1981 Prevost 8-92, 10 spd
My website
Our weblog
Simply growing older is not the same as living.
Fredward
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 622


MC-5A #5401 8" roof raise 8V71 with MT647




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: February 13, 2012, 09:32:21 AM »

Regarding current draw, i asked King Cruise about that and he said the stepper motor they use draws a maximum of 3 amps and usually holds around 2 amps when engaged.
Fred
Logged

Fred Thomson
gus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3510





Ignore
« Reply #24 on: February 13, 2012, 02:19:58 PM »

Fred,

That sounds more like it to me. Most small motors or solenoids don't draw many much power.

Of course high amps is relative, depending on 12 or 24 voltage systems.

High power is high power no matter the voltage.
Logged

PD4107-152
PD4104-1274
Ash Flat, AR
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!