Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
November 26, 2014, 10:30:46 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: You will not incur forwarding fees when you are on the road.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: LP gas cooktop  (Read 1638 times)
rip
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 204




Ignore
« on: June 27, 2012, 05:47:16 AM »

 I have a Kitchen Aid cooktop and would like to change the BTU's if possible. The manufacture states the burners are sealed and can't be changed.Has anyone tried this or is this even possible to get higher BTU's out of the burner.
    Don
Logged
Geoff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 532





Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2012, 06:04:01 AM »

I have a black Kitchen-Aid 2-burner cooktop and it came with different size orifices so you could convert to use propane instead of natural gas.

--Geoff
Logged

Geoff
'82 RTS AZ
Oonrahnjay
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585





Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2012, 06:57:29 AM »

  I have a black Kitchen-Aid 2-burner cooktop and it came with different size orifices so you could convert to use propane instead of natural gas.     --Geoff 

    If Rip is running propane to the cooktop with natural gas orifices, the jets should be changed anyway -- even if it doesn't increase temperature (although it almost certainly will).  Check what you have, Rip.  Make sure that the orifices are propane jets.
Logged

Bruce H; Wallace (near Wilmington) NC
1976 Daimler (British) Double-Decker Bus; 34' long
6-cyl, 4-stroke, Leyland O-680 engine

(New Email -- brucebearnc@ (theGoogle gmail place) .com)
rip
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 204




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2012, 07:09:54 AM »

Yes they are are propane jets.I have been using this for years,I just want more btu's.It takes a long time for things to heat up.
Logged
Oonrahnjay
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585





Ignore
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2012, 08:08:01 AM »

  Yes they are are propane jets.I have been using this for years,I just want more btu's.It takes a long time for things to heat up. 

    OK, that means that they're safe; but it doesn't help you with the heat dilemma.  I've never heard of different jet orifices for different heats (doesn't mean that they don't exist but I expect that they're pretty rare).  I live in a little town -- I'm gonna guess that the nearest "natural gas" network is 100 miles away.  My local LP dealers also provide service for household and industrial gas and they're real knowledgeable about all the little details; have you checked with a local co. there?  (Or Kitchen Aid customer support?)
Logged

Bruce H; Wallace (near Wilmington) NC
1976 Daimler (British) Double-Decker Bus; 34' long
6-cyl, 4-stroke, Leyland O-680 engine

(New Email -- brucebearnc@ (theGoogle gmail place) .com)
jjrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2313

MCI5C/N Ft Myers FL




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2012, 09:06:42 AM »

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/gas-kitchen-laundry-bbq-appliances/157487-stove-burner-flame-adjustment.html

Google search, 5,540,000 results!
Logged

Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room!

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

http://photobucket.com/buspictures
bevans6
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4821


1980 MCI MC-5C




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2012, 11:22:17 AM »

FWIW my propane/natural gas stove came with a kit to change to propane, and every burner got a different jet size, and has a different BTU output.  I wouldn't be changing things willy-nilly, they all have different burner sizes as well.  My other natural gas Kitchen-aide is indeed not a very hot burning cooktop...

Brian
Logged

1980 MCI MC-5C, 8V-71T from a M-110 self propelled howitzer
Spicer 8844 4 speed Zen meditation device
Vintage race cars -
1978 Lola T440 Formula Ford
1972 NTM MK-4 B/SR
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 12917




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2012, 11:26:18 AM »

Turn the pressure up what altitude are you at ? most are set for sea level with .4 lbs of pressure plus propane is so nasty these days coming from aboard the jets may need cleaning sorry forgot the decimal  .4 lbs 

good luck
« Last Edit: June 27, 2012, 12:54:42 PM by luvrbus » Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6901





Ignore
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2012, 11:29:36 AM »

Typically natural gas jets will be bigger then propane since natural gas has less BTU's.  Perhaps try the natural gas jets?  Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
Bill B /bus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267





Ignore
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2012, 12:20:01 PM »

Ah NO! 10" to 14" Water Column. Not 4 PSI

I always wondered how a story of dirty this or fouled that got started. Do you really think that the pipeline operators would accept "dirty" gas for pumping? No. Operating costs for filters and pump repair would negate the pumping fee.

Bill
Logged

Bill & Lynn
MCI102A3, Series 50 w/HT70
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 12917




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2012, 12:37:45 PM »

LOL why do think they pig those lines every so often every compressor station or pumping station has pig launchers at Tennessee Gas we used a brush pig followed by a rubber pig then the poly pig if that didn't work we would sand blast that section it may have been a 50 miles long section   

It was a simple process to sand blast a section of pipe on the inside
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
Bill B /bus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267





Ignore
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2012, 04:08:19 PM »

Yeah they do run pigs frequently. Cheesy However, pump repairs are expensive downtime and to be avoided at all costs Sad.
In any pipeline the flow velocity is key to deposition on the pipe walls. Slower flow and the deposition rate increases as a log function of the change is velocity. Remember the flow at the boundary layer next to the pipe wall is close to zero. Turbulent flow is desired to lessen dropout but laminar flow requires less pumping power but increases dropout. Hence the balancing act of flow velocity versus how many times pigging.

Bill
Logged

Bill & Lynn
MCI102A3, Series 50 w/HT70
garhawk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 213




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2012, 06:21:40 AM »

Hi Rip,

If you have the manufacturer's proper sized orifice installed for the type fuel you are using, then you should be properly set.  Your problem is most probably height; i.e., the tip of the flame should only just nip at the surface you are attempting to heat (bottom of your pan).
Logged

gary t'berry
Eagle Mod 20 DD ser 60 w/slide
GMC RTS 102"  40er (in progress)
Lin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4584

1965 MC-5a




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2012, 11:05:06 AM »

I also find that our propane cooktop is not as hot as we'd like it.  I never looked to see if there was a way to adjust the flame height though.  Since the furnace works fine, I might be hesitant to do something that effects the whole system.
Logged

You don't have to believe everything you think.
Eagle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 332


1985 Eagle




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2012, 11:38:41 AM »

The diameter of the burner determines the BTU output of the burner not the orifice size.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!