Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 24, 2014, 10:45:35 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It can be read on any computer, iPad, smart phone, or compatible device.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I need some electrical help with a 4024 xantrex that keeps turning on and off.  (Read 2760 times)
Chaz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508


4108, 8V71 w/auto .


WWW

Ignore
« on: July 06, 2012, 05:01:25 AM »

Hey folks,
  I'm in a county fairgrounds plugged into a pole and my inverter keeps kicking on and off. I'm plugged into a 30 amp service and the inverter will kick on and off 3-4-5-6-7 times, whatever and then run for about 5-10 mins. I'm only pulling 11 amps, as per the read out.
  What can I do?Huh I'm in Indiana and it 's supposed to hit 100* today. I 'm not a " happy camper". Sad
 Thanx for any help!!!!!!
   Chaz
Logged

Pix of my bus here: http://s58.photobucket.com/albums/g279/Skulptor/Motor%20Coach/
What I create here:   www.amstudio.us
 
"Imagination is more important than knowledge". Albert Einstein
buswarrior
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3571


'75 MC8 8V71 HT740




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2012, 05:09:54 AM »

What are your limit settings at?

My money is on low voltage at the power pole, sucked down by the neighbourhood draw.

Leave the little screen showing the incoming AC voltage under #4 Meters, and see how low it goes when someone's AC/refrigerator/merry-go-round starts up?

Try lowering the cut out voltage, the battery set will take care of the rest and get charged in between.

It isn't throwing the error/alarm codes to you?

Make sure the Trace has access to LOTS and LOTS of cooling air. Boxed up in that heat, it can also cut-out for overheating.

happy coaching!
buswarrior
Logged

Frozen North, Greater Toronto Area
Chaz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508


4108, 8V71 w/auto .


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2012, 06:36:31 AM »

The settings, although I haven't checked, should be fine. I have been runing the inverter/ AC for two weeks now getting ready for this trip.
It should't be the draw as I am the onl one on the pole and it seems to be too consistent.
It isn't ' giving any errors, just cutting out. But, the 12volt stuff still works.
Cooling was a concern although, like I said, I have been using it at home for 2weeks and no problem. Plus it was cool last night and I also put a fan on it just in case. No luck.
Thanx for the input!!!!!!!  I need it!!
  Chaz
Logged

Pix of my bus here: http://s58.photobucket.com/albums/g279/Skulptor/Motor%20Coach/
What I create here:   www.amstudio.us
 
"Imagination is more important than knowledge". Albert Einstein
Sean
Geek.
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2553


'85 Neoplan Spaceliner "Odyssey"


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2012, 01:54:09 PM »

What specific model do you have?  Xantrex made more than one unit with "4024" in the name.

-Sean
http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com


Logged

Full-timing in a 1985 Neoplan Spaceliner since 2004.
Our blog: http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com
David Anderson
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 844


South Texas in the Eagle Ford Shale area




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2012, 07:41:30 PM »

I'm with Buswarrior.  My SW2512 will cut out if it drops below my voltage settings.  I either shed power in the coach or lower the voltage setting Undecided but I never lower it below 108 volts.  Check your grid voltage.

David
Logged
Chaz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508


4108, 8V71 w/auto .


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2012, 09:08:02 PM »

Thanx a bunch guys! We may be on to something. (Huh?)
The inverter gave me grief ALL night and not much sleep. But today, after about say 8:00 it never once turned off. Thank the good lord!!! but then tonight, about 10:00 it started again. But it only done it once,so far.
The grid volts ....." DAMN!!!!!!  It just started again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   GRRRRRRRRRRRRR...... &$@?$&$@?$&&@$&!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anyway as i was saying, the grid volts we're at 113 and the inverter volts were at 105. And when it just kicked off again, they were both at 118.
I dunno guys, I'll watch it and see if I can find a pattern. But it looks like it may be a long night. But tomorrow I may have something to go by and figure out.
Thanx so much for helping!!!!!
Chaz
Logged

Pix of my bus here: http://s58.photobucket.com/albums/g279/Skulptor/Motor%20Coach/
What I create here:   www.amstudio.us
 
"Imagination is more important than knowledge". Albert Einstein
Oonrahnjay
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512





Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2012, 03:59:45 AM »

  (snip)  the grid volts we're at 113 and the inverter volts were at 105. And when it just kicked off again, they were both at 118.
I dunno guys, I'll watch it and see if I can find a pattern.

       If you're having trouble at 118 volts, it's pretty likely to be something else.  Time to look at temps? 
Logged

Bruce H; Wallace (near Wilmington) NC
1976 Daimler (British) Double-Decker Bus; 34' long
6-cyl, 4-stroke, Leyland O-680 engine

(New Email -- brucebearnc@ (theGoogle gmail place) .com)
Chaz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508


4108, 8V71 w/auto .


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2012, 06:05:59 AM »

Not sure what temps you would be concerned with. I have a fan on it, coming from an extension cord from another outlet from the pole. It does not waver.
It cycled again all last night. It's 8:45 and still doing it. I have unplugged everything but the frig, and when it's not running, my meter says I am pulling 0 amps, and it is still doing it. Battery outage is 23.8 but yet, when it kicks off not even he batteries keep it going.
My guess is I am not making a lot of sense but I'm trying.
I'm going to go to generator and se what happens.
Thanx so much for helping guys!!!
Chaz
Logged

Pix of my bus here: http://s58.photobucket.com/albums/g279/Skulptor/Motor%20Coach/
What I create here:   www.amstudio.us
 
"Imagination is more important than knowledge". Albert Einstein
Chaz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508


4108, 8V71 w/auto .


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2012, 06:48:54 AM »

Everything is cool when plugged into the gen. I think the voltage limit is not low enough in my inverter. Willit hurt anything to drop it down below 105, say maybe 100?HuhHuh I don't want to mess things up.
Thanx a bunch!!!
Logged

Pix of my bus here: http://s58.photobucket.com/albums/g279/Skulptor/Motor%20Coach/
What I create here:   www.amstudio.us
 
"Imagination is more important than knowledge". Albert Einstein
buffalobob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2012, 07:29:03 AM »

I have a 4024. You might check low battery kick out point in your menu settings. Mine is set at 22.5 V. or reset to factory defalt. (boffalobob)
Logged
buffalobob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2012, 07:35:30 AM »

I have a 4024.In your main menu, check your low battery cut out point,it might be set too high. I set mine @ 22.5 V.Or go to factory default points. (buffalobob)
Logged
Sean
Geek.
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2553


'85 Neoplan Spaceliner "Odyssey"


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2012, 08:01:21 AM »

Please, please, please tell me what model you have.  I can't help you if I don't know.  The troubleshooting steps are different between models, and the typical sources of problems are as well.

-Sean
http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com
Logged

Full-timing in a 1985 Neoplan Spaceliner since 2004.
Our blog: http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com
Chaz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508


4108, 8V71 w/auto .


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2012, 10:22:20 AM »

Sorry Sean. It's been a little crazy dealing with this and trying to get done what i came for. It's a model SW4024MC2. SW series.
I ran the gen for awhile this morning and it all worked fine. I plugged back into the pole and it seems to be working ok now. It seems to only mess up at night. I really do think the voltage is dropping on the pole too low. I'm wondering if it would be a bad thing to set the low limit below 105.
Thank you a ton for all the concern and help!!!!!!!
Chaz
Logged

Pix of my bus here: http://s58.photobucket.com/albums/g279/Skulptor/Motor%20Coach/
What I create here:   www.amstudio.us
 
"Imagination is more important than knowledge". Albert Einstein
Sean
Geek.
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2553


'85 Neoplan Spaceliner "Odyssey"


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2012, 11:34:48 AM »

... It's a model SW4024MC2. SW series.

OK.  Since you say it is not giving an error then I assume you are getting no red light and the inverter is not actually shutting down, but rather it is simply disconnecting from AC power (and thus inverting), and then eventually re-syncing with the grid.

Some questions:
1.  Is your grid power wired directly to AC1, or is it wired through a transfer switch to AC2?

2.  When this happens, does the AC1 (or AC2, as the case may be) In Good indicator (green) go directly from steady-on to flashing?  Or is there a short period of time where it is out altogether?

3.  Please share here the values you have set for all settings under Menu 11

4.  If an ATS is involved, please state make and model

With the above information I can tell you where the most probable issues are.


Quote
... I'm wondering if it would be a bad thing to set the low limit below 105.

FWIW, I keep my lower limit set at 98 volts.

The Inverter doesn't care -- it will tolerate anything down to the lowest setting it will allow.  What cares are your appliances.  Remember that whatever the incoming voltage is, that's what the output voltage will be.  Motors in appliances like air conditioners don't like low voltage and will have a shorter lifespan.

I'd rather have air conditioning even when I am on crappy park power like in Mexico, and if I end up replacing a unit early because of it, so be it.  For people who have heartburn about this, though, the solution is to let the inverter just invert (IOTW, do not pass shore power to it at all), and use a separate battery charger to provide power to the batteries and thus the inverter.  Then the inverter will be putting out ~120VAC, and only the battery charger will see the crappy input power.

-Sean
http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com
Logged

Full-timing in a 1985 Neoplan Spaceliner since 2004.
Our blog: http://OurOdyssey.BlogSpot.com
Chaz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508


4108, 8V71 w/auto .


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2012, 12:04:21 PM »

OK...... Wow.let's se what I can do here. ( I just got this iPad and am not all that familiar with it and how it works)
Your first statement is true. ( copy and paste eludes me on this thing)
1)  I have a 50 amp shore cord that I either plug into the gen or pole. It comes on as  AC1.
2) I believe it goes to flashing right away but can't say for sure as it is working right now.
3) input lower -105
    Input upper - 140
    Grid amps -30
    Gen amps- 30
ATS,?Huh
  That is good info to know about the lower limit. I could do the battery charger thing but I only have a 12 volt charger with me.
   But it would be my guess, since we NEED AC right now that it would be better on all appliances to stay running consistently than to turn on and off all night. (Huh)
Thank you again for all the time and effort'!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  Chaz


Logged

Pix of my bus here: http://s58.photobucket.com/albums/g279/Skulptor/Motor%20Coach/
What I create here:   www.amstudio.us
 
"Imagination is more important than knowledge". Albert Einstein
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!