Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
July 25, 2014, 08:54:25 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: You will not have to go out in the rain, sleet, hail, or snow to retrieve it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Boat Cable  (Read 1737 times)
wagwar

Ignore
« on: August 10, 2012, 04:54:26 PM »

I think I have read here and on the other one that boat cable is a no-no in bus conversions. I recall, that the problem is proper termination of the stranded conductor. There may be other reasons as well. Of course, I may have also just misunderstood as I am not an electrician.

Nevertheless, I have found some 120vac circuits in my bus using boat cable. It is 12 ga, three conductor, so there is no 'missing ground' problem, but it would be nearly impossible to change the cable at this point.

What is the 'Proper' way to terminate boat cable for the following type of connections:

Neutral bus bar in panel box
Circuit breaker in panel box
Ground connection in panel box
Connection to appliances - receptacles/outlets, A/C units, light switches, etc.

belfert

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2012, 05:05:51 PM »

I'm not so sure termination is the issue so much as not meeting code.  Marine cable is not listed in the code for RV use.

I have marine cable in my bus.  I'm probably going to replace it with THHN stranded or maybe MC stranded next summer.  I'm not worried about safety with the marine cable.  I just want to meet code.

Brian Elfert - 1995 Dina Viaggio 1000 Series 60/B500 - 75% done but usable - Minneapolis, MN
Zeroclearance

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2012, 05:38:52 PM »

You might want to look into DLO wire or Diesel locomotive wire.   Sean has recommended it in the past.   They offer it tinned.
bevans6

1980 MCI MC-5C

Ignore