Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
July 23, 2014, 10:21:22 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: New ownership began September 1st 2012!  Please send any comments to info@busconversions.com
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Clutch Issue on a 1972 GMC P8M4108A  (Read 482 times)
ElvisBus

Ignore
« on: October 11, 2012, 08:26:44 PM »

Hello Friends,
I am new to this message board and I only recently bought a 72 GMC P8M4108A with an 8V71 Detroit Diesel and a 4 speed manual transmission with a wet clutch.  For the few months I have owned it, I have only taken it around the block several times, never on a road trip.  The bus ran fine going around the block and the transmission seemed to operate as it should, that is it was hard to get into first gear and the clutch pedal required a lot of leg.  According to what I read, this is normal. Well, about two weeks ago, I was going to take the bus out for a spin and while I was trying to get the gearshift to go into first gear, the clutch suddenly went to the floor and would not come up again unless I pulled it up with my hand.  The spring attached to the clutch pedal is still attached, and with the help of a friend I was able to determine that the linkage running from the pedal to the clutch lever on top of the clutch housing is still hooked up.  The problem is somewhere in the clutch housing.  I am able to move the lever on top of the clutch housing back and forth without resistance and this is the problem.  Can anybody tell me what happened?  Has anybody ever experienced this problem where the clutch pedal suddenly went to the floor?  Some people tell me the throw out bearing pulled through the fingers in the housing.  Some people tell me the fiber clutch probably disintegrated.  Another person told me that perhaps the bolts that keep the clutch fork straight migh