Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
September 30, 2014, 08:58:12 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: It arrives at least two weeks before the First Class printed magazine.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: GMC RTS II, type T70-604 question  (Read 2984 times)
CivilEngineer

Ignore
« on: November 20, 2006, 01:43:33 PM »

I am an engineer working for a company which is redesigning a ramp to accommodate a bus.  The specified bus is a 1980 GMC RTS II coach, type T70-604.  I found some information online which states that the bus length is 35' and wheelbase is 239".  But the information I really need is:  where are the wheels positioned between the front and back of the bus; i.e. how much overhang on the front and back?  I need this information to accurately design the ramp and can't seem to find it anywhere online.  Does anyone have access to one of these buses for a measurement or know of where I could find this information?

Also, I measured several buses to determine an approximate height of the bottom above the ground, and found quite a variance.  I'm assuming most buses have an air suspension so height above the ground will vary depending on the loading inside the bus.  Can anyone confirm that this is correct?

Kim
Chris 85 RTS

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2006, 03:06:00 PM »

First off you need to join the best site on the web for RTS information:  http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/RTS-bus-nuts/