Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
November 24, 2014, 12:19:55 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It arrives at least two weeks before the First Class printed magazine.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: To DDEC or Not to DDEC, that is the question  (Read 5035 times)
keithshotrodshop

Ignore
« on: November 20, 2006, 05:52:37 PM »

After much calling around and various reasearch, I have come up with a 6L71TA DDEC Coach motor for a reasonable price with computer and harness. Any thoughts on this? I have thought much about turboing my stock motor, but this motor is actually cheaper than even the rebuild kit for mine, so I'm thinking swap time. Any advantages/disadvantages to the DDEC? I'm fairly new to the world of big diesel engines.
tekebird

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2006, 05:59:37 PM »

I vote against the DDEC....too many electrical complexities.......plus I think you will need an electronic trans if going to auto as well.

Your bus is simple....keep it that way and you will be happier...than spening alot of time and Money chasing down codes and minor faults that make your engine not run.

non DDEC..........fuel air and compression and it will go.

Buffalo SpaceShip

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2006, 06:13:48 PM »

I vote that way, too. I've always had MUI engines, and they're brain-dead simple to diagnose. Having a DDEC might give you slightly better economy, possible cruise control, no fear of a "runaway", etc. But sometimes simplicity is best. Especially at oh-dark-thirty and you're miles from the nearest DD dealer.

Not to mention the harness, senders, and expertise req'd. to install a DDEC in an old coach just might make you swear off bussin'. And we don't want thatCheesy

My $0.02,
Brian B.

Brian Brown
4108-216 w/ V730
Longmont, CO