Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 30, 2014, 09:14:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It takes up much less space in your bus.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Transmission warning light,, Why is it on?  (Read 2031 times)
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« on: March 21, 2013, 12:44:02 PM »

I am working on a 1992 Prevost XL40 with a 8V92TA Sad for a friend. Someone ahead of me was putting new batteries on this coach and put one battery on backwards and gave the coach a reverse spike. It got the DDEC II ECM but after getting it rebuilt I got it started but I have a "check Transmission" light on in the dash and in my shift pad there is a red section flashing "do not shift" and a neutral light on. Where do I start looking??

 I took the ATEC ECU off and the shift board, and sent it to the computer shop and they said they are fine. Tongue
Logged
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12800




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2013, 01:00:24 PM »

Try holding down the 2 arrows simultaneous with the key on that will flash the codes then hold the mode down till you hear a tone in a few second hold down for a few more seconds and the codes are cleared,remember the AETC took the same shot as your DDEC you may have bigger problems
« Last Edit: March 21, 2013, 01:13:16 PM by luvrbus » Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2013, 07:12:16 PM »

Try holding down the 2 arrows simultaneous with the key on that will flash the codes then hold the mode down till you hear a tone in a few second hold down for a few more seconds and the codes are cleared,remember the AETC took the same shot as your DDEC you may have bigger problems

thanks I will do, and get back with you
Logged
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2013, 01:39:43 PM »

who takes the credit for the ATEC system? its not Prevost, Country Coach, Allison, or Detroit,
I have 1992 Prevost XL with a transmission light on will not go into gear, and I can't find out how to get the codes out out this thing. I have tried to use the shift pad but no luck.
Logged
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12800




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2013, 02:24:38 PM »

who takes the credit for the ATEC system? its not Prevost, Country Coach, Allison, or Detroit,
I have 1992 Prevost XL with a transmission light on will not go into gear, and I can't find out how to get the codes out out this thing. I have tried to use the shift pad but no luck.
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12800




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2013, 02:26:26 PM »

Hold the mode button till you hear a tone it should bring the codes up,Allison takes the credit what generation is your ATEC or what transmission model if it is a 755 you are on your own lol and you have my deepest condolences  

 FWIW  you can down load a manual from Allison for 60 bucks it maybe money well spent they can be a night mare but yours sounds like a ground problem

good luck
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 02:52:37 PM by luvrbus » Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2013, 06:59:53 PM »

Hold the mode button till you hear a tone it should bring the codes up,Allison takes the credit what generation is your ATEC or what transmission model if it is a 755 you are on your own lol and you have my deepest condolences  

 FWIW  you can down load a manual from Allison for 60 bucks it maybe money well spent they can be a night mare but yours sounds like a ground problem

good luck

The shift pad has one empty little square that blinks and says "don't shift" in it, I have held it down and nothing happens,
 it is a HT 755CR, I called Allison and they said they are only responsible for the wiring inside of the transmission, all the Allison people don't have any software to pull the codes out of this old a system. The Allison guy told me it was a engine issue that the ATEC reads the motor ECM. I just had the Engine ECM rebuilt and all is well there.

 It is nosed into a storage building and no way to get a wrecker to the front of it, I have to crank this beast right where it sets somehow.

  Do you know of anyone who has a reader to pull the codes out of this model of setup?
Logged
robertglines1
steam nut
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4025





Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2013, 07:14:47 PM »

Other possibilities: Slides must be in. (if equipped) Maybe foot on brake(some later model) had feature. Engine idle to high.  Also trans oil temp to low(-50F) switch faulty or wire broken.  Remote uncommon things. Bob
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 07:28:41 PM by robertglines1 » Logged

Bob@Judy  98 XLE prevost with 3 slides --Home done---last one! SW INdiana
robertglines1
steam nut
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4025





Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2013, 07:44:23 PM »

Is the dash tach working? The engine ECM has to talk to the trans Ecm for the trans to work.   Bob
Logged

Bob@Judy  98 XLE prevost with 3 slides --Home done---last one! SW INdiana
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2013, 07:54:23 PM »

Is the dash tach working? The engine ECM has to talk to the trans Ecm for the trans to work.   Bob

yes the tach works good
Logged
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12800




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2013, 07:57:18 PM »

Wish I could help I have D.O.C that will read the WTEC 2 and up but not the 755 I have been told that anything that will read the 4L60 and 4L65 GM transmission like a OBD11 will read a 755 I never tried it so I don't know if true or not.

If you give Kim or Bobby a call @ Global Transmission in Tuscon Az one of those guys can answer your question on your 755 or if anybody here knows how to reach Bob Ware he can help you also

good luck
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2013, 07:58:25 PM »

Other possibilities: Slides must be in. (if equipped) Maybe foot on brake(some later model) had feature. Engine idle to high.  Also trans oil temp to low(-50F) switch faulty or wire broken.  Remote uncommon things. Bob

 it has no slides, but I never thought of having my foot on the brake, I always take it off of high Idle and its idling at 550/600, I give these things a try
this all started when a guy put a battery on and crossed the leads, it was doing just fine till that happened,
Logged
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2013, 08:00:31 PM »

Wish I could help I have D.O.C that will read the WTEC 2 and up but not the 755 I have been told that anything that will read the 4L60 and 4L65 GM transmission like a OBD11 will read a 755 I never tried it so I don't know if true or not.

If you give Kim or Bobby a call @ Global Transmission in Tuscon Az one of those guys can answer your question on your 755 or if anybody here knows how to reach Bob Ware he can help you also

good luck

thanks I will contact them
Logged
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2013, 12:46:48 PM »

Can a ATEC / Allison transmission computer [ ECU ] be diagnosed/checked out if it is off of the coach? I pulled this ECU to have it checked out and the company said it was good, but several Allison people tell me it must be on the coach using a break out box to properly diagnosed.
Logged
akroyaleagle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 512





Ignore
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2013, 02:31:10 PM »

I don't know much about electronics but if you didn't let the smoke out, I'd think it is probably not damaged much.

It is hard to believe the runaround you are getting.


Since this problem started with battery work, have you rechecked all the cables and wires and ensured they are connected/grounded correctly?

Is/was there a fusible link somewhere upstream of the transmission.

Logged

Joe Laird
'78 Eagle
Huron, South Dakota
Ed Hackenbruch
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2436




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2013, 02:59:27 PM »

I probably know even less than Joe, maybe unhook the batteries and let it sit for a few minutes before hooking them back up?
Logged

1968 MCI 5A with 8V71 and Allison MT644 transmission.  Western USA
robertglines1
steam nut
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4025





Ignore
« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2013, 04:49:30 PM »

You need a allison/prevost  specialist here.  If memory serves me correct. That trans gets it's operating info direct from the engine ddec system ( engine rpm-Temp etc) so if ecm aren't talking to each other.  You got problems. That is what Clifford meant by big problems. Like maybe Excess of $3500 for correct box.  Was your engine DDEC programed correct for your application when they redid it?  Look for the easy solutions first! Ck all the plug in (deutch connectors)on box in steering compartment. Sorry can"t help but share a little info here. Please do let us know of outcome.  Bob
Logged

Bob@Judy  98 XLE prevost with 3 slides --Home done---last one! SW INdiana
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2013, 05:49:15 PM »

I don't know much about electronics but if you didn't let the smoke out, I'd think it is probably not damaged much.

It is hard to believe the runaround you are getting.


Since this problem started with battery work, have you rechecked all the cables and wires and ensured they are connected/grounded correctly?

Is/was there a fusible link somewhere upstream of the transmission.



 I have all the batteries are correct now, I have full voltage to all the trans controls, I don't know if there is a fusible link, I have looked and cant seem to see any. Prevost only used this transmission 2 years and it is the first year for Allison to use a electronically controlled unit. Nobody knows much about it.
Logged
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12800




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2013, 06:19:37 PM »

If the pad lights then the fuse is ok try borrowing a pad it cost about 400 bucks to have a pad rebuilt fwiw a 741 will have the same pad.

If you do buy a different ATEC may sure you don't buy a standalone unit meaning it will work with a mechanical engine I made that mistake once buying from Ebay cost me more to reprogram the unit than I paid 
« Last Edit: March 25, 2013, 06:30:35 PM by luvrbus » Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: March 25, 2013, 09:16:26 PM »

If the pad lights then the fuse is ok try borrowing a pad it cost about 400 bucks to have a pad rebuilt fwiw a 741 will have the same pad.

If you do buy a different ATEC may sure you don't buy a standalone unit meaning it will work with a mechanical engine I made that mistake once buying from Ebay cost me more to reprogram the unit than I paid 

thanks
Logged
gyoder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2013, 11:29:21 AM »

The Varnner battery equalizers on this 1992 XL provost , are they part of country coaches installation or are they OEM prevost?

I have looked everywhere for a hint how to check these out , I have a battery low/hi light on in the dash. The book says the equalizers are faulty. I have checked them and they have voltage.

 When country coach took the OEM engine mounted generator off and put an alternator on they didn't take the voltage regulator off of the rear firewall. Don't let that fool you, the alternator is self regulating and self exciting, why they don't take them off is news to me.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!