Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
December 18, 2014, 07:21:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It will not get torn up or crushed if you back over it with your bus.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New electric autex Wipers  (Read 772 times)
Dave5Cs
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 1719


1979 MCI MC5Cs 6V-71 644MT Allison, Roseville, CA




Ignore
« on: May 11, 2013, 07:30:21 PM »

I just installed my new Autex electric wipers. They went in very nicely and got rid of a lot of old leaky air hoses and fittings under the dash. The only problem I have is it says the black wire goes to ground and the red wire goes to a relay or circuit breaker not more than 10 Amps (and should it be fused doesn't say).
So I would imagine power coming from a 12 volts terminal which i believe is # 53 ( will test to make sure) so this would go to  87 or C1 on relay. C2 or 3051 should be the Red wire power out to motor.
Now can black ground wire just go to frame or metal as negative ground or does it go to the relay 86? I'am Cornfused. Maybe I am thinking wrong relay type?

Dave5Cs
« Last Edit: May 11, 2013, 07:42:32 PM by Dave5Cs » Logged

My personal skills are fine.. itís my tolerance to idiots that needs work!....

http://s1264.photobucket.com/albums/jj493/fltmr2000/
bobofthenorth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2106



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2013, 07:39:36 AM »

Ground is ground - it shouldn't go through a relay.  Personally I would put a 10 amp circuit breaker in the hot line but a fuse would work too.  I'm not familiar with your MCI wiring but you need to pick a circuit that can handle the additional 10 amps. 
Logged

R.J.(Bob) Evans
1981 Prevost 8-92, 10 spd
My website
Our weblog
Simply growing older is not the same as living.
Emcemv
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 229


1973 MCI MC-7 Combo


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2013, 08:39:57 AM »

Dave, I just got a quote from autex for electric wipers for our MC7 1973. $850 which was more than I was hoping.  Price sound right??
Bruce
Logged

Bruce & Nancy Fagley
1973 MCI MC-7 Combo Freighter
450HP DD 8V-92T 2000 Reman
HT 740 Allison
Woodbury CT.
Dave5Cs
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 1719


1979 MCI MC5Cs 6V-71 644MT Allison, Roseville, CA




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2013, 09:46:15 AM »

Bruce, Yep that's what I paid shipping is free. I didn't get the washer or tank and will be using my air one. I didn't get the arms which were another 139.00 each. I used mine that were fine. I just put it up on my Photo buck site first 35 pictures are the install yesterday.

It is pretty easy except i am not an electric guy and don't want to wreck the new wiper motors thats why I am asking about where to hook them up. The instructions are not very clear.

Dave5Cs
Logged

My personal skills are fine.. itís my tolerance to idiots that needs work!....

http://s1264.photobucket.com/albums/jj493/fltmr2000/
bobofthenorth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2106



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2013, 09:55:08 AM »

All I did for washer on mine was buy two little automotive washer pumps and hook them up to the Autex supplied switches.  Check your switches - if they push as well as turn then they have the washer function built in.  All you need to do is plumb washer pumps into each wiper.  You can use the existing washer reservoir and lines - just need to mount the pumps somewhere and hook them up.
Logged

R.J.(Bob) Evans
1981 Prevost 8-92, 10 spd
My website
Our weblog
Simply growing older is not the same as living.
Dave5Cs
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 1719


1979 MCI MC5Cs 6V-71 644MT Allison, Roseville, CA




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2013, 10:28:32 AM »

Thank Bob I still have the whole air washer setup and it works. Yes my switches have the push capability but just didn't need to use them.

If i find a 12 volt circuit up front with nothing being used on it, can I just use that with a 10 amp circuit breaker to power them?

Dave5Cs
Logged

My personal skills are fine.. itís my tolerance to idiots that needs work!....

http://s1264.photobucket.com/albums/jj493/fltmr2000/
bobofthenorth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2106



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2013, 11:44:24 AM »

If i find a 12 volt circuit up front with nothing being used on it, can I just use that with a 10 amp circuit breaker to power them?
 

As long as there really is nothing else on the circuit I don't see why you couldn't use it.  Any existing circuit should have some circuit breaker or fuse already in the circuit but I would add protection specific to the wipers if I was doing it. 

Logged

R.J.(Bob) Evans
1981 Prevost 8-92, 10 spd
My website
Our weblog
Simply growing older is not the same as living.
Dave5Cs
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 1719


1979 MCI MC5Cs 6V-71 644MT Allison, Roseville, CA




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2013, 12:05:11 PM »

Thanks bob for your advice. Grin

Dave5Cs
Logged

My personal skills are fine.. itís my tolerance to idiots that needs work!....

http://s1264.photobucket.com/albums/jj493/fltmr2000/
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!