Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
August 21, 2014, 02:58:37 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: It will not be stolen by your mailman or your neighbor who also may be into buses.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Turbo Boost on a series 60 ?  (Read 2005 times)
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 12225




Ignore
« on: May 23, 2013, 04:25:50 PM »

For you series 60 guys or anybody else we are traveling with friends that have 60 in their Prevost,here is the problem today his boost went away no codes show with the Pro/Link or flash on the dash.

We have cleaned all connections , pins, checked the turbo,air cooler for leaks and even changed the sensor the silly thing will loose power no black smoke no boost pressure but you can turn the cruise control and the boost goes up to 30 lbs fairly easy  

My 60 series guru is out of the country and won't be back for a month how about it Jim or Ken what the hell is going on with this 14L series 60, Prevost Tech was no help it was a waste of 30 or 40 minutes  

 I am completely lost on this it has to be simple it just started after we stopped for some BBQ it will get up to speed in 5 or 6 miles without much power  

The guys at Stewart and Stevenson tell me it has to flash a code believe me this one will not we need some help S&S is booked for 2 weeks in advance in Houston  got ideas guys and thanks for any help  Cry
« Last Edit: May 23, 2013, 04:29:16 PM by luvrbus » Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
hargreaves
1987 MCI 102A3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 299





Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2013, 07:30:10 PM »

Are you getting throttle counts on the reader when you step on the throttle? Maybe the tps is kaput!  Cheers Gerry
Logged

now as of Feb 2012 series 50 B400  . Sunshine Coast British Columbia
Boomer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 638





Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013, 07:30:42 PM »

Is it a fuel starvation problem, that will not allow boost and will not produce a code.
Logged

'81 Eagle 15/45
'47 GM PD3751-438
'65 Crown Atomic
Vancouver, WA USA
hargreaves
1987 MCI 102A3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 299





Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2013, 07:35:33 PM »

If you get power on cruise ,it doesnt use the tps. no tps, no throttle, no fuel no power. Cheers Gerry
Logged

now as of Feb 2012 series 50 B400  . Sunshine Coast British Columbia
Hard Headed Ken
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 309


1988 Prevost Angola Conversion Repowered With 14L Series 60 & Eaton Ultrashift


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2013, 07:43:50 PM »

The TPS is a real possibility, but it should set a code, that doesn't mean it always does. Here's a wild guess, if you have a DDR or any other way to switch ratings try a different rating. Most ECMs have at least 2 ratings, 0 is the highest HP, 1 is slightly lower and so on. Anything that would normally cause that problem should set a code. Depending on the ECM program it can operate on a different set of parameters when on cruise control, an example is the 430/470 HP we see on some of the DDEC IV engines. It's a long shot but there could be a problem with the ECM program that's why there is no code. Switching to a different rating will use a different set of timing, pulse width, smoke control and desired boost tables that are stored in the ECM program for that rating. I'm doubtful if that will help, but it seems you checked the normal stuff. I'm guessing this is a DDEC V EGR engine.

I usually think of the most complicated thing and as you said it's most likely something simple we haven't thought of yet.   

Ken
Logged

Link to my engine swap slide show

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oxAFFBcoTQI
Zeroclearance
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 522





Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2013, 10:45:33 PM »

Clifford, I know you said that you checked the turbo...  However, I would tug on the wastegate rod to see if it hasn't broken..  You could also have a seized gate/shaft (if it's seized in the open position it's dumping all the boost)..   A rod that's broken will blow the gate open.

Logged
Zeroclearance
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 522





Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2013, 10:49:16 PM »

I didn't read that it was a 14 liter!!
Logged
blue_goose
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 278





Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2013, 04:05:51 AM »

I pulled into a rest area with everything running fine, when I tried to leave the coach wouldn't pull out of the parking space.  After trying everything else including changing the ECM we found it was the TPS.  Didn't throw any codes and checked fine with a tester.
Jack
Logged

Data used in this document is made from 100% recycled electrons and magnetic particles. No electrons were harmed in the creation of this document.
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6720





Ignore
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2013, 06:55:06 AM »

Most Freightliner and Western Star dealers are also Detroit engine specialists. If you're getting full boost on cruise control, the gas pedal is the first that comes to mind-but that's probably to simple. Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
rv_safetyman
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 2199


Jim Shepherd


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2013, 08:13:35 AM »

Have to agree, sounds like TPS.  Another fellow has been having intermittent problems with his coach - similar symptoms.  As I recall, he has replaced the TPS once.  

I recommended that he disconnect all the connections and spray them with contact cleaner and plug them together, then repeat several times.  I have not heard an update from Ed since he tried that "fix".  Not sure if no news is good news.

Jim
« Last Edit: May 24, 2013, 10:02:48 AM by rv_safetyman » Logged

Jim Shepherd
Evergreen, CO
85 Eagle 10/Series 60/Eaton AutoShift 10 speed transmission
Somewhere between a tin tent and a finished product
Bus Project details: http://beltguy.com/Bus_Project/busproject.htm
Blog:  http://rvsafetyman.blogspot.com/
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 12225




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2013, 10:20:14 AM »

The  TPS count is on the money but we are going to change it anyway and see still no codes with Pro/link,DDR or flashing Jim I have cleaned every connection on this thing 1/2 dozen time I own stock in CRC now

 We stop at Prevost in Houston off I 10 the guy worked for about 1 hr and said take to a DD dealer he didn't know what was causing it, the thing is perfect on cruise but the cruise doesn't do much good in traffic  Huh it is a DDEC V Ken and he has had nothing but trouble with it 2 turbos and 5 injectors over the last 2 years
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
rv_safetyman
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 2199


Jim Shepherd


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2013, 11:22:42 AM »

Well, this is a pretty good puzzle.  Be sure to let us know what the solution is (short of dynamite or a match).

Jim
Logged

Jim Shepherd
Evergreen, CO
85 Eagle 10/Series 60/Eaton AutoShift 10 speed transmission
Somewhere between a tin tent and a finished product
Bus Project details: http://beltguy.com/Bus_Project/busproject.htm
Blog:  http://rvsafetyman.blogspot.com/
Hard Headed Ken
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 309


1988 Prevost Angola Conversion Repowered With 14L Series 60 & Eaton Ultrashift


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2013, 11:43:42 AM »

The  TPS count is on the money but we are going to change it anyway and see still no codes with Pro/link,DDR or flashing Jim I have cleaned every connection on this thing 1/2 dozen time I own stock in CRC now

 We stop at Prevost in Houston off I 10 the guy worked for about 1 hr and said take to a DD dealer he didn't know what was causing it, the thing is perfect on cruise but the cruise doesn't do much good in traffic  Huh it is a DDEC V Ken and he has had nothing but trouble with it 2 turbos and 5 injectors over the last 2 years

The guys that work on the 14's say the N3 injectors don't usually give much trouble. If the owner is OK with an EGR delete that is supposed to reduce carbon/soot build up on the vanes in the VNT turbo. The vanes stick and set a code even though the turbo is actually OK. Another benefit of no EGR is a much longer engine life. The recirculated exhaust gas has soot in it which mostly ends up in #6 and wears that cylinder prematurely, then the blowby with soot in it gets in the oil and wears the rods and mains. This information is from a couple of guys who work on Detroit engines every day. Almost forgot, EGR delete usually equals about another 1 MPG.

Ken
Logged

Link to my engine swap slide show

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oxAFFBcoTQI
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 12225




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2013, 11:56:20 AM »

It won't pass emissions in Phoenix with the EGR delete Ken we thought about it as he has had to replace the EGR valve   


Tomorrow I going to do a hp set to 1 on your advice and a couple of others and see if that helps, don't you just love the future if this was a old mechanical  8v92 or a 425 Cat would not be a problem for me

 He would love 6 mpg right now it 5 to 5.5 mpg
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
Hard Headed Ken
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 309


1988 Prevost Angola Conversion Repowered With 14L Series 60 & Eaton Ultrashift


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2013, 12:16:47 PM »

Do you how the emissions people check the ERG system?

I hear you about the mechanical engines, I live in both worlds, I like a lot of things about the electronic engines but if you have one with an odd problem all that good stuff doesn't matter much.

Ken
Logged

Link to my engine swap slide show

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oxAFFBcoTQI
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!