Bus Conversion Magazine Bulletin Board
November 20, 2017, 09:36:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It will not get torn up or crushed if you back over it with your bus.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: MC9 drive axle plates  (Read 1604 times)
solodon

Ignore
« on: June 23, 2013, 08:16:06 PM »

Hi, I'm new to this BBS stuff so please bear with me.  Working on a MC9 with leaking bags.  The bags were on the side with plates.  I don't know how old these parts are.  I'm going to put 4 new bags on.  I've not been able to get any idea how much plates cost and am considering making my own, buying the bolts, 4 new bags (what's the difference between a bellows and an assembly other than $70?) and getting it back on the road. I'm also thinking about using a spot of weld on the bolt heads to keep them from turning as I tighten the nuts.  When I'm taking the nuts off the head needs to be held in place with a metal plate and vise grips or the bolt spins after the nut is loosened.  The nuts seem to be some sort of a locking nut which is what causes the problem.  If the nuts weren't locking nuts one could hold the bolt head in place with their fingers.  BTW I do have access to machinery and materials for making the plates myself.  Any input from other members, pro or con would be appreciated.

Don
1979 MC9
8V71,Automatic.
Indianapolis, IN
Just getting started. Bags are in, interior metal out ready to insulate and cover, then do the floor
Dave5Cs

1979 MCI MC5Cs 6V-71 644MT Allison, Roseville, CA

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2013, 08:41:05 PM »