Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 01, 2014, 03:41:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: New ownership began September 1st 2012!  Please send any comments to info@busconversions.com
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How to prime DDEC 4 S60 without starting  (Read 558 times)
Zeroclearance
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 523





Ignore
« on: June 22, 2013, 11:31:02 AM »

Last summer I replaced my upper valvetrain.   The bus hasn't been started in months...   I'd like to crank it over without the engine firing..   What is the best way on the H3's..    I
Logged
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12591




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2013, 12:12:10 PM »

With throwing codes you need to pre lube through the plug on the front cover,if you don't mind the codes just pull the timing sensor or cut the power to the ECM
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
Hard Headed Ken
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 309


1988 Prevost Angola Conversion Repowered With 14L Series 60 & Eaton Ultrashift


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2013, 12:18:18 PM »

leave the ignition switch off and use a bump start button or what ever method you like to get battery voltage to the starter solenoid. lt'll spin but won't start.

Ken
Logged

Link to my engine swap slide show

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oxAFFBcoTQI
azdieselman
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2013, 12:23:01 PM »

Unplug the TRS or SRS, TRS is easier, or pull the ECM fuses on the batteries.
Logged

1980 Mod 10
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12591




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2013, 12:44:02 PM »

His H series VIP probably has a key operated starter mine does no button
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
Hard Headed Ken
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 309


1988 Prevost Angola Conversion Repowered With 14L Series 60 & Eaton Ultrashift


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2013, 01:04:42 PM »

Probably would be easier to pull the fuses. The starter is most likely hard to get to.

Ken
« Last Edit: June 22, 2013, 01:08:24 PM by Hard Headed Ken » Logged

Link to my engine swap slide show

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oxAFFBcoTQI
Zeroclearance
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 523





Ignore
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2013, 01:55:27 PM »

Thanks folks for the replies..   I need to check and see where the fuses are to the ECU..   
Logged
Don Fairchild
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 759




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2013, 02:00:54 PM »

guy's correct me here but the injectors won't prime if the ECM is not working will they, They won't on my 8V92.

Don
Logged
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 12591




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2013, 02:49:16 PM »

Sounds like he wants a oil prime too me Don
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
Zeroclearance
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 523





Ignore
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2013, 03:12:30 PM »

Don, I want to "oil" prime...

Next question..   I have a DDEC Multilink Translator  P/N 23528022    What do you folks recommend for software.   Can someone send me a link or ??  I'd really like to run the software off a PC vs a Prolink..
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!