Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
July 22, 2014, 06:29:52 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: You will not incur forwarding fees when you are on the road.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 240 volt roof air  (Read 1438 times)
Scott Bennett
Scott & Heather MCI-9
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1241


Scott & Heather


WWW

Ignore
« on: July 03, 2013, 09:11:45 PM »

Would a 240 volt roof air 13,500 btu be able to run on a 1500 watt 240 volt generator?


Sent from iPhone via Tapatalk
Logged

Scott & Heather
1984 MCI9 6V92-turbo with 9 inch roof raise & conversion in progress.
http://www.scottmichaelbennett.com/p/our-bus.html
˙ǝɯoɔlǝʍ suoıʇɐuop ˙snq ʍǝu ɐ pǝǝu ʎlqɐqoɹd ll,ǝʍ 'sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 6663





Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2013, 09:55:56 PM »

Doesn't matter what voltage the unit is, it's the starting wattage and running wattage that makes the work. Typically, if an air conditioner needs 1500 watts to run, it would need double that wattage to start it-especially when it's hot. Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
wg4t50
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 757





Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2013, 04:37:37 AM »

1500 watts at any voltage will not work for the a/c roof unit, it would take an older Onan 2500 watt to have a chance, Generac and other econ wannabee gensets would require about 5000 watts.
Logged

MCI7 20+ Yrs
Foretravel w/ISM500
belfert
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 5391




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2013, 06:12:50 AM »

I'm curious where you found a 240 volt roof top A/C unit?  Is it European?
Logged

Brian Elfert - 1995 Dina Viaggio 1000 Series 60/B500 - 75% done but usable - Minneapolis, MN
Scott Bennett
Scott & Heather MCI-9
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1241


Scott & Heather


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2013, 06:51:41 AM »

Yes, I don't own one, but yes, european model. Basically wanted to know if the higher voltage would allow for less watts needed...i'm an electricity dummy.
Logged

Scott & Heather
1984 MCI9 6V92-turbo with 9 inch roof raise & conversion in progress.
http://www.scottmichaelbennett.com/p/our-bus.html
˙ǝɯoɔlǝʍ suoıʇɐuop ˙snq ʍǝu ɐ pǝǝu ʎlqɐqoɹd ll,ǝʍ 'sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
azdieselman
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2013, 08:14:17 AM »

Amp X Volts = Watts. You are 1/2 right, The higher voltage will draw less Amps, Not Watts.
Logged

1980 Mod 10
robertglines1
steam nut
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3969





Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2013, 08:18:38 AM »

 Grin
« Last Edit: July 04, 2013, 08:47:31 AM by robertglines1 » Logged

Bob@Judy  98 XLE prevost with 3 slides --Home done---last one! SW INdiana
technomadia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 578


Zephyr - 1961 GM PD-4106-446


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2013, 09:27:26 AM »

Doesn't matter what voltage the unit is, it's the starting wattage and running wattage that makes the work. Typically, if an air conditioner needs 1500 watts to run, it would need double that wattage to start it-especially when it's hot.

This is absolutely true - the starting surge usually requires an over-size generator to get the roof unit running. Double the wattage is probably a safe rule of thumb.

You can mitigate this somewhat with a "soft start" kit for the the roof AC that uses a larger capacitor to bring down the starting surge current requirements.

Or an even better way is to use an inverter that can supplement your generator power with battery power for the duration of the starting surge. This way you can size your generator for the average running load, not the peak surge load.

Cheers,

  - Chris
Logged

Cherie and Chris / www.technomadia.com
Full-time 'Technomads' since 2006 (technology enabled nomads)
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 6663





Ignore
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2013, 10:04:54 AM »

Some of the new portable inverter generators could start a roof air. I would still go with no smaller then 2000 watts with closer to 3000 watts better. 

It doesn't matter whether it's 120vac @ 12.5 amps or 1500vac @ 1 amp, it's still 1500 watts and you need a 1500 watt generator to create it. Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
Len Silva
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4083


Angle Parked in a Parallel Universe


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2013, 10:28:46 AM »

You must also be aware of the frequency.  Many European models will be 50Hz.
Logged


Hand Made Gifts

Ignorance is only bliss to the ignorant.
pvcces
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 750





Ignore
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2013, 06:22:03 PM »

That 50 hz air conditioner might take 1800 watts if it was run on a 60 hz generator because the compressor would likely run 20% faster than normal.

It's something to consider.

Tom Caffrey
Logged

Tom Caffrey PD4106-2576
Suncatcher
Ketchikan, Alaska
HB of CJ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1230




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: July 04, 2013, 07:43:21 PM »

A/C starting with other running loads running may prevent it from even starting--even if the gen set is way larger than you think you need.  Relays needed?  Also the environment comes into play.  If you are very hot outside and at very high altitude, good luck with that marginal gen set...it just might not work at all.  Like already answered better; sometimes a 50 Htz A/C unit and a 60 Htz genset may not mix.  Faster; (with all potential concerns) and hotter?  HB of CJ (old coot)
Logged
belfert
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 5391




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: July 04, 2013, 08:04:09 PM »

A 1,500 watt 240 volt generator would be pretty small for 240 volt.  Most with 240 volt are 3000 watts and up.
Logged

Brian Elfert - 1995 Dina Viaggio 1000 Series 60/B500 - 75% done but usable - Minneapolis, MN
Scott Bennett
Scott & Heather MCI-9
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1241


Scott & Heather


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2013, 05:19:27 AM »

Ok, so my 3000 watt generator isn't producing more watts in 240 volt mode?


Sent from iPhone via Tapatalk
Logged

Scott & Heather
1984 MCI9 6V92-turbo with 9 inch roof raise & conversion in progress.
http://www.scottmichaelbennett.com/p/our-bus.html
˙ǝɯoɔlǝʍ suoıʇɐuop ˙snq ʍǝu ɐ pǝǝu ʎlqɐqoɹd ll,ǝʍ 'sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
belfert
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 5391




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2013, 05:34:48 AM »

Watts are watts no matter what voltage.  Amps will change as voltage changes.  Your generator produces the same amount of power no matter if 240 volt or 120 volt.

You don't use any less power by going with a 240 volt rooftop.  You're better off with 120 volt for ease of replacement and repair.  You also won't have to deal with 50 hz versus 60 hz.
Logged

Brian Elfert - 1995 Dina Viaggio 1000 Series 60/B500 - 75% done but usable - Minneapolis, MN
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!