Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
July 24, 2014, 06:03:56 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: It will not be stolen by your mailman or your neighbor who also may be into buses.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Eagle Bus - transmission and power steering  (Read 823 times)
Chas

Ignore
« on: September 14, 2013, 09:54:30 PM »

Hello All,

I am still fairly new to this busing world. I purchased a converted and a bit neglected 1979 Eagle 05 awhile back and have been working on it. It currently does not have power steering (air or hyd.) and has a manual 4 speed transmission. I have come across a 1982 that may be more of a parts bus than anything, but the power steering and automatic transmission look to be solid (bus is drivable and both) . Can anyone provide any input regarding the 1982 05 tranny and power steering can be coupled up to my 79'. Also, besides the obvious benefits of an automatic transmission, are there any pro's and con's of an auto vs. a manual from a service life standpoint? If I wanted to price a power steering upgrade and auto transmission (new an/or used), can anyone offer a resource or vendor for these?

Also, this 1982 has more rust than my 79' but does have some mechanical strengths over my 79'. Is the 82' a wider bus? Does anyone have any pro's and con's of the 82' over the 79' from a mechanical/OEM quality standpoint? Thank everyone much. I'm really enjoying getting into this bus life!

Chas
Timkar

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2013, 06:16:41 AM »