Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
May 23, 2015, 07:55:13 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: New ownership began September 1st 2012!  Please send any comments to info@busconversions.com
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 50 amp versus 30 amp  (Read 2467 times)
belfert
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5553




Ignore
« Reply #30 on: November 05, 2013, 08:54:36 AM »

There are better 15 amp to 30 amp converters than the little ones that plug in.  I had one that has a short length of cord, but I lost it somewhere.  Many inverters have a setting for the numbers of amps they are hooked up to.  I set mine down from 30 amps when I plug into a smaller circuit.
Logged

Brian Elfert - 1995 Dina Viaggio 1000 Series 60/B500 - 75% done but usable - Minneapolis, MN
scanzel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 549





Ignore
« Reply #31 on: November 05, 2013, 10:29:43 AM »

50 amp is my way to go. I have 8 100 ah agm batteries connected to my Magnum 4024 wired for 220 back to a Square D QO 50 amp panel located in my bedroom area. I have the Magnum remote panel and the battery sensor also. All this is wired through a Kraus Naimer 100amp rotary switch set up for OFF/Inverter/Shore/Generator. This way I can feed my ac panel with what ever ac I need at the time. My lighting and other accessories will be or are going to be 12v & 24v dc. I am looking to have all led lighting. The only heavy ac loads should be 2 Penguin 13500 btu with heat pumps and the home style   18 cu refrigerator, stove is propane but has an over stove microwave vented to the roof. Some day I would also like to have some solar pwr too. Coming in for shore power I have the Progressive Industries 50 amp monitoring unit with surge supression with the remote panel which shows your incoming voltage and amps when there is a load. Great little monitor because when on shore power it shows your amp load on each leg of 220.
Logged

Steve Canzellarini
Berlin, CT
1989 Prevost XL
Van
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2401




Ignore
« Reply #32 on: November 05, 2013, 11:43:41 AM »

 50amp hook up is actually two legs of 50 giving you an available 100 amps combined, I learned early on that 30 amp just ain't enough to stay cool with here in the desert.  Wink Just a side note, when the temps drop below 96 here it gets down right nipply Grin Bring on the summer! Smiley
« Last Edit: November 05, 2013, 11:51:57 AM by Van » Logged
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7135





Ignore
« Reply #33 on: November 05, 2013, 02:34:15 PM »

I have my non inverter items separated in another breaker box from the inverter powered items. Hence, If I'm on limited power pole, I can just turn off the 30amp supply to the inverter breaker box and run off a combination of inverter and power pole. I would use this, for instance, if I'm at a friends house with only 20amps coming to the bus and running one roof air. Then if I wanted to say run the microwave, or make coffee, or toast, I can run it off the inverter and worry about recharging the batteries later that night when the A/C is no longer needed. Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!