Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
February 09, 2016, 01:58:44 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This BB is intended for the sole purpose of sharing conversion and bus related information among visitors to our web site. These rules must be followed in order for us to continue this free exchange of info. No bad mouthing of any business or individual is permitted. Absolutely no items for sale are to be posted, except in the Spare Tire board. Interested in placing a classified or web ad, please contact our advertising dept. at (657) 221-0432 or e-mail to: info@busconversions.com.

   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: powering roof top ac from bus engine  (Read 3010 times)
lvmci
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 988





Ignore
« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2014, 06:51:44 AM »

Hi Nick, just the front for going down the road, I have a MCI 5A, I have also been considering a split system, but dont think  its enough, I have the over the road air bay open, I was also thinking of putting a 24volt motor to run the compressor and simultaneously fan for condenser and just build one from scratch. Use the defroster vents for the main vents, a lot of pre-existing stuff to use in place, lvmci...
Logged

MCI 102C3 8V92, Allison HT740
Formally MCI5A 8V71 Allison MT643
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7514





Ignore
« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2014, 08:54:08 AM »

I have three 13,500 roof tops. When A/C is needed, I just run the generator going down the road. Normally, 2 are enough, but when the temp gets over 100, then I kick on all three. It keeps the inside at a comfortable 75 degrees. My front A/C is near the front where I can aim the vent right at the driver's seat. With the help of a dash fan, it is very comfortable when driving-even into the sun. I generally loose about 1mpg when running the gen-course it is running all day whether stopped or driving. Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
Larry B
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 161




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2014, 06:20:31 PM »

Good evening everyone--- Good to hear there is a back up possibility if this fails. Thanks Nick. I also have three ac units on the roof and the front one is as far forward as I could get it without cutting into fibercast roof cap (within 4 feet). I have already installed the roof ac units so I have to finish the plan and see if it will work. I think my front and center units are 15,000. Glad to here Tom's units do a satifacfory job of cooling. Living in Canada, we don't see temps much over 90, that is hot enough. To add anything or find a usable pulley in my engine compartment would be tough.  As a point of interest did other know that by trying to resurrect a battery with a 30 amp charge will set off a carbon monoxide detector before setting off gas detector ? I spent half a day yesterday looking for a flue gas leak that I did not have. Burial writes to battery today. Have a good day everyone.
            Larry B   
Logged

1977 MCI-5B---
8V71- 4speed man
zimmysurprise
"Flight Risk" Don and Charlie Zimmerman 1978 GM PD-4108 Chardon,Ohio
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71





Ignore
« Reply #18 on: May 14, 2014, 03:01:31 PM »

Quote
Good evening everyone--- Good to hear there is a back up possibility if this fails. Thanks Nick. I also have three ac units on the roof and the front one is as far forward as I could get it without cutting into fibercast roof cap (within 4 feet). I have already installed the roof ac units so I have to finish the plan and see if it will work. I think my front and center units are 15,000. Glad to here Tom's units do a satifacfory job of cooling. Living in Canada, we don't see temps much over 90, that is hot enough. To add anything or find a usable pulley in my engine compartment would be tough.  As a point of interest did other know that by trying to resurrect a battery with a 30 amp charge will set off a carbon monoxide detector before setting off gas detector ? I spent half a day yesterday looking for a flue gas leak that I did not have. Burial writes to battery today. Have a good day everyone.
            Larry B   

Most carbon monoxide detectors can't tell the difference between CO and Sulfur Dioxide from batteries being charged. A common cause of false CO alarms in homes with battery backup sump pumps that run dry and overcharge.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!