Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
December 18, 2014, 05:26:07 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It will not be stolen by your mailman or your neighbor who also may be into buses.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 4 in 1 gauge with digital temp  (Read 1051 times)
Seangie
www.herdofturtles.org
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 921


And We're Off... Like a Herd of Turtles


WWW

Ignore
« on: July 08, 2014, 12:51:00 PM »

Anyone know where I can find a 4" 4in1 gauge (temp, DC, oil, fuel) that is either all digital or at least has a digital temp read out?

Here is a link to a 4in1 gauge for reference - http://bpi.ebasicpower.com/pc/FAR33151/GACOMBO

My oil pressure gauge is not working and Ive tested it and its definitely the gauge itself.  So looking to replace it without too much drama.

Thanks.

-Sean

Fulltiming somewhere in the USA
1984 Eagle 10S
www.herdofturtles.org
Logged

'Cause you know we,
we live in a van (Eagle 10 Suburban)
Driving through the night
To that old promised land'
chessie4905
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 793





Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2014, 02:07:37 PM »

http://www.autometer.com/cat_gaugeop.aspx?sid=17&tid=&cid=0&zid=0&gnid=#gauge_tab-tab

not quite, but they may have others.

http://www.cyberdynegauges.net/temperature_gauges.php
« Last Edit: July 08, 2014, 02:14:03 PM by chessie4905 » Logged

GMC h8h 649#028
Pennsylvania-central
HB of CJ
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Posts: 1304




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2014, 02:19:17 PM »

Back before the dawn of time, or around 1970, my 1963 Crown Supercoach 40 foot 3 axle 10 wheeler 93 passenger schoolie had a full dash board load out of matched Stewart Warner mechanical gauges.  I think only the volt and amp gage had wires, all the rest had physical drives cables or various tiny tubes and pipes and stuff.

There was something about all those dials and switches and stuff.  The tiny gauge panel around the steering was quite small and very filled up with various stuff.  Oil pressure, water temp, oil temp, amps, volts, a pyrometer, tack, speedo, fuel pressure and fuel level.  The students and I had fun watching them all move back and forth.

Does anybody today sell retro stuff?  Maybe not with all the old fashioned way to getting the information to the gauges, but just looking like a matched set of old mechanical Stewart Warner gauges?  Or....does anybody make a Star Trek type multi function flat panel that does EVERYTHING... like some sort of star ship console liquid crystal?

HB of CJ (old coot)  Sorry for the kinda hijack.
Logged
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 13117




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2014, 03:09:52 PM »

I never saw a 4 in 1 digital read out gauge before I hope you find one

good luck
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
RJ
Former Giant Greenbrier Owner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2878





Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2014, 05:22:24 PM »

Sean -

Fast Fred redid the gauges in his Flx with ones from this vendor.  Perhaps they'll have what you're looking for:

http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/

Gotta poke around the site a bit, and they will customize (in the fine print!)

FWIW & HTH. . .

 Wink
Logged

RJ Long
PD4106-2784 No More
S13406 Now
Fresno CA
lvmci
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 737





Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2014, 06:07:48 PM »

I hook up my star trek tricorder to the old girl and push the stun button to help her up the hills!  There's a new Garmin App for star trek tricorders, available at the Ipod stores, lvmci...
Logged

Mci 102C3 8V92, Allison 4 speed 740
Formally MCI5A 8V71 Allison MT643
Seangie
www.herdofturtles.org
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 921


And We're Off... Like a Herd of Turtles


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2014, 08:56:48 PM »

Its really just the temp gauge I need to be digital.  Fuel, DC and oil pressure are fine as analog.  I might just throw a seperate digital gauge for water temp only.

Digital gauges just don't look as sexy as the old analog gauges.

-Sean

Fulltiming somewhere in the USA
1984 Eagle 10S
www.herdofturtles.org
Logged

'Cause you know we,
we live in a van (Eagle 10 Suburban)
Driving through the night
To that old promised land'
Audiomaker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 156





Ignore
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2014, 10:17:06 PM »

Hey Sean,

The only one I can think of might be something from Dakota Digital.

http://www.dakotadigital.com/index.cfm

Quick start to this page:
http://www.dakotadigital.com/index.cfm/page/ptype=results/category_id=69/mode=cat/cat69.htm

I know they'll do custom stuff too.

Sean
« Last Edit: July 08, 2014, 10:20:43 PM by Audiomaker » Logged
chessie4905
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 793





Ignore
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2014, 11:13:22 AM »

   I think analog and a digital both would be good. That way you can be sure you are getting a reliable reading if both indicate the same temp. (maybe they are both reading wrong Huh)
Logged

GMC h8h 649#028
Pennsylvania-central
harleyman_1000
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 505



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2014, 09:58:54 PM »

http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/Blue-Digital-Gauge-Series.aspx?sitelink=Center
Logged

Scott 
St.Louis Missouri

1958 GM 4104 Extended 2 feet, with a 6v92 and 5 speed automatic

http://s783.photobucket.com/user/harleyman_1000/library/Gm4104%20bus?sort=3&page=1
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6968





Ignore
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2014, 09:35:31 PM »

One of the reasons I like my truck is because of the gauges it has. Speedo with odometer, tachometer, ammeter, volt, oil pressure, engine oil temperature, turbo boost, air filter restriction, fuel filter restriction, pyrometer, fuel pressure, transmission temp, front drive axle temp, rear drive axle temp, air suspension pressure. Gives you something to watch going down the road. Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
Seangie
www.herdofturtles.org
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 921


And We're Off... Like a Herd of Turtles


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2014, 11:23:28 PM »

Dang Tom.  If I had half of my plain Jane gauges working I'd be happy.  Axle temp?  Whoda thunk?

Fulltiming somewhere in the USA
1984 Eagle 10S
www.herdofturtles.org
Logged

'Cause you know we,
we live in a van (Eagle 10 Suburban)
Driving through the night
To that old promised land'
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6968





Ignore
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2014, 07:27:57 AM »

Especially with a tandem axle, both axle temps are very telling. If you happen to leave the interaxle locked up, you'll get the front axle heating up over the rear axle-which will tell you to release the interaxle lock (don't ask how I know this). Also, can fore tell of a problem with one of the axles since going down the road, both axles are pushing about the same. Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
sdc53
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 111




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2014, 07:35:23 AM »

I put one of these in my bus last fall, seems to be ok so far:
http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/MaxTow-Water-Temperature-Gauge.aspx
I wanted hyper-accurate digital readout for hills as well as the analog.  I did have to replace the sending unit as well, but that was pretty easy to do.  The wiring was a little different.  There are some other models they offer that have alarm feature or min/max high low history that seemed interesting too.
Logged

Scott
Gladstone, OR
1969 PD4107
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6968





Ignore
« Reply #14 on: July 11, 2014, 08:26:25 AM »

To facilitate adding gauges or other things in the future, I bought 5 different colored 50ft extension cords. I ran them from the engine compartment to the driver's area. I cut the wire with 2ft before the plug so if I have to remove the engine cradle, all you have to do is unplug them. So now I have 15 extra wires. So far I've used 2 for the tachometer and 2 for the cruise control. Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
luvrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 13117




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: July 11, 2014, 10:15:41 AM »

I installed the VIP Sensitor on the wife's motor home has lights for each funcations,digital readout for 6 functions and buzzers for each of the 6 functions pretty handy little gadget and you can preset all alarms. Check it out it may work for you CW has specials some time for the unit or you can buy direct from www.viprv.com   
Logged

Life is short drink the good wine first
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!