Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
November 01, 2014, 04:10:16 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: The dog will not eat it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Installing a Power tech generator  (Read 1648 times)
flynbanjo

Ignore
« on: January 03, 2007, 06:35:01 PM »

I am just beginning the process of installing a 12KW power-tech generator in our MC-9.  The installation template that came with the unit called for 5 rather large holes to be cut in the floor of the bay.  I am not planning on cutting any of the floor supports but that means I can't cut the holes as big as they suggest.  At the risk of sounding foolish, how critical is the size of the gen/radiator exhaust air holes?

Steven

Steven
81 MCI MC9
Hudson, Florida
gumpy
Some Assembly Required

Slightly modified 1982 MC9

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2007, 06:43:46 PM »

At the risk of sounding arrogant, how critical is the loss of your investment $$$?

The holes are there to bring in air to cool you genset. If you undersize them, you risk overheating and damaging your unit, and it won't be covered by warranty if you didn't install it properly.

I'm not familiar with their terminology, but I suspect they are specifying a specific area of vent required, not specific dimensions of the hole. For instance, they would say 60 sq inches, rather than 10 in x 6 in. In this case, you could cut several holes, as long as the total meets or exceeds 60 sq inches.

If they say to put a certain area of cooling in, I personally think you should follow their suggestion. After all, they're the ones with the engineers that decided you need that amount of air. It wasn't the marketing guys (they'd have said to use less so they could sell you another one after burning up the first one).

Craig Shepard
Located in Minnesquito