Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 31, 2014, 08:54:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This BB is intended for the sole purpose of sharing conversion and bus related information among visitors to our web site. These rules must be followed in order for us to continue this free exchange of info. No bad mouthing of any business or individual is permitted. Absolutely no items for sale are to be posted, except in the Spare Tire board. Interested in placing a classified or web ad, please contact our advertising dept. at 714-903-1784 or e-mail to: info@busconversions.com.

Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Computer Help  (Read 6159 times)
John E. Smith

Ignore
« on: January 22, 2007, 07:30:49 PM »

You know, I fix busses for a living but my real "area of expertise" is computers... I have my own web, mail and FTP servers running on another computer on the end of my desk.

My "standard" security package consists of this:

AVG Free Anti-Virus
Grisoft Free Anti-Virus Software

SpyBot Search And Destroy (set to "paranoid" mode)
The Home Of Spybot Search & Destroy

SpywareBlaster v3.51
From JavaCool Software

and for nightly scanning... AVG Anti-Spyware (used to be Ewido, until Grisoft bought them out)
Available from :
Download Trial Here

Both SpyBot and AVG Anti-Spyware will find any keylogger in existance -- make sure you enable Heuristic scanning which scans based on code action as well as database signature.

Spybot will allow you to check what ActiveX items are running or installed on your computer (what Christy refers to as add-ons in IE), as well as showing you all running processes on your computer.  The nice thing is that it identifies them for you and puts a little green checkmark next to those that are known to be safe.