Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
September 19, 2014, 12:59:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: It will not get torn up or crushed if you back over it with your bus.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Question for Battery Experts  (Read 597 times)
scanzel

Ignore
« on: February 01, 2007, 03:34:59 PM »

My company just replace 40 batteries in our UPS withnewer ones. There are 10 batteries that were replaced within the last year. They are AGM made by C&D Technologies UPS12-370FR 100AH  20hr rate to 1.75 vpc @ 77 degrees F. Since I am just getting started on my conversion I need to know if I should pick these up tp use. My plans are for a basic 120v refrig 10 to 12 cubic ft, propane stove and oven, Proheat X45 12v heat, two split mini air systems 120v and some misc other basic electrical items.I have a Kohler 9kw rv diesel generator and will use  a Xantrex inverter. No sure of which one yet. Any comments or suggestions are appreciated.  Smiley Smiley

Steve Canzellarini
Berlin, CT
1989 Prevost XL
DrivingMissLazy

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2007, 04:41:44 PM »

The type of batteries for UPS service are primarily designed for float service and have a limited number of deep discharges. Having said that, several people have indicated that they have used them for several years very successfully. I would take them and use them if it were me.

This is a link to the Help board where several links are posted. Scroll down  to the links regarding batteries:

Click Here for Favorite Links

ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS AND BATTERIES
CAR AND DEEP CYCLE BATTERY FAQ    This consumer oriented FAQ contains answers and information about lead-acid batteries used to start car, motorcycle, truck, boat, recreational vehicle (RV), power sports, motor home, tractor and other engines.