Bus Conversion Magazine Bulletin Board
April 21, 2018, 06:28:18 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It will not be stolen by your mailman or your neighbor who also may be into buses.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Jump Start Relay / House Battery Charge  (Read 2525 times)
LegalEagle82

82, Model 10 8v71, 95 Model 15 60 Series

Ignore
« on: February 03, 2007, 02:59:07 PM »

If all goes well, I have attached 4 pictures to the post and question.   I'm new to the bus and to posting on this site.

I  have attached the following photographs, My complete 3rd bay, a closer view of the electric panel, a close up of the Jump Start Relay. and my inside control panel. 

I'm not sure if the system works yet, does anyone else have this setup. 

I've been reading about isolators and solenoid relays to split the charging from the alternator to keep the house batteries charged.   I would like to know or make sure I can charge my house batteries while going down the road, and let the family run the inverter or 12volts items without fear of discharing the batteries.

This raises my question, will this jump start relay, also back feed power from the starting batteries to charge the house batteries if engaged while the bus is running. (I haven't traced the wires just yet, I assume its feeds back to the start batteries.)