Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
September 02, 2014, 09:54:59 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: The dog will not eat it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 3 phase generators  (Read 1015 times)
ulaff

Ignore
« on: April 29, 2007, 08:27:21 PM »

how much trouble would it be to use a 7kw 3 phase generator in a my bus ? would I need any special equipment? I am just getting started on the electrical system so any help would be appreciated
TomC

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2007, 09:30:09 PM »

You have three legs of 120vac at 2.334kw per leg.  In my opinion, would be a very big pain to try to come close to balancing the load.  The only load I could think that might be balanced, is if you had three roof top airs and ran one off of each leg.

I have a 10 kw single phase wired straight 120vac.  I don't EVER have to think about balancing the load-just if I were to overload it on the total output.  Makes life easier.  Good Luck, TomC

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
DrivingMissLazy

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2007, 04:52:14 AM »

Most, if not all, three phase alternators can be reconnected for single phase output. 120 volt two wire or 240/120 volt three wire output. Total capacity is reduced by a certain amount depending on what you re-connect for. Check inside the connection housing and see if there are twelve leads, or even six leads connected together in some fashion. If so, you are in luck I think. Let me know exactly what leads are connected together.
Richard