Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
December 20, 2014, 02:12:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It will not get torn up or crushed if you back over it with your bus.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: WiFi  (Read 1956 times)
jjrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2313

MCI5C/N Ft Myers FL




Ignore
« on: May 04, 2007, 01:55:44 PM »


I've been useing Sprint for my internet an am happy with it. Recently I have had the opportunity to play with a WiFi DSL connection. It is great when it works, very frustrating when it does not. Through trial and error I have found I am not getting a good signal. I'm getting a signal, just not strong enough. I am Useing a Linksys adaptor with a 15 ft USB cable and putting it out the window to connect to a house type router about 125 ft away.  A friend sent me a couple of links.



   http://www.turnpoint.net/wireless/has.html

   http://dustydragon.com/wifi.htm

 Today I had some spare time and the WiFi would not stay connected, poked around so see what I had and came up with this. Now I have a good strong signal. I know I really need to get a life. But if I was not doing something like this I would be hanging around bars and chasing, ?? what was it I would chase???






 
Logged

Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room!

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

http://photobucket.com/buspictures
Hartley
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1217





Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2007, 02:24:09 PM »

You can get a high gain antenna that will hold your router inside from

http://www.wlanparts.com

I got their ENOC 3220 Outdoor complete unit with 14 dbi antenna in a waterproof case, It will work as a bridge, AP or Repeater
by web based setup menu.

They have antennas also.
Logged

Never take a knife to a gunfight!
jjrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2313

MCI5C/N Ft Myers FL




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2007, 02:59:29 PM »

 I've seen those Dave, but you paid money for that. You should know by now I still have my Bar Mitzvah money. Roll Eyes
Logged

Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room!

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

http://photobucket.com/buspictures
Hartley
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1217





Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2007, 04:38:48 PM »

A few gallons less diesel = $41 for a housing/antenna

 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Wink

Well I guess if the Collander works that is OK too...
Logged

Never take a knife to a gunfight!
DavidInWilmNC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 594


1978 MC-8 as I bought it May 2005




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2007, 09:36:46 PM »

I've been thinking about mounting a directional wi-fi antenna on one of those Winegard crank-up antennas.  This way, I could aim the directional wi-fi antenna to wherever the signal is coming from.  I'll play around with that when I get that point in my conversion. 

David
Logged
wrench
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 166





Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2007, 04:45:35 AM »


I've been useing Sprint for my internet an am happy with it. Recently I have had the opportunity to play with a WiFi DSL connection. It is great when it works, very frustrating when it does not. Through trial and error I have found I am not getting a good signal. I'm getting a signal, just not strong enough. I am Useing a Linksys adaptor with a 15 ft USB cable and putting it out the window to connect to a house type router about 125 ft away.  A friend sent me a couple of links.

  Can you give some feedback on sprint? Are you using the air card wireless broadband(rev O or rev A? Did you use it in remoted area(coverage)? Is it fast enough to replace cable? Did you try audio call on PC? I got T-mobile/edge, & I tryed a sprint demo at their store but the PC may have a minimum set up to speed up the download & upload, but it was close to cable speed.
         thanks  for input    wrench


   http://http://www.turnpoint.net/wireless/has.html

   http://http://dustydragon.com/wifi.htm

 Today I had some spare time and the WiFi would not stay connected, poked around so see what I had and came up with this. Now I have a good strong signal. I know I really need to get a life. But if I was not doing something like this I would be hanging around bars and chasing, ?? what was it I would chase???






 
Logged
jjrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2313

MCI5C/N Ft Myers FL




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2007, 07:22:43 AM »

Hey wrench. I use a cell phone with a data cable. The card and phone seem to do the same thing, but the phone has more uses. With the phone you can move it around to get better signal,or add an external antenna. I'm do not know about the plan limitations between phone and card.  Speeds vary depending on area you are in and signal strength. It is always much quicker than dail up but not as quick as cable.
 I do not know what audio call on PC is?
 If you look at thier coverage map,what you see is what you are going to get. The cell phone coverage will be the same as the air card coverage.
 As a general rule I cannot connect to the internet in remote areas, but every now and then it will work.
 I use an external antenna,..( broke my heart to spend money on it!), it magnetic mounts to the roof with a 12ft cable, 12ft seems to be the max length. It greatly increases range and most important signal strength. The antennas come in a variety of styles also amplified. You can do a web search and see what would work best for you. also not all phones have a port for external antenna. Check befor you buy.
 I will not tell you about my plan as I have had it for a long time and grandfathered in, it is a real sweet deal. hth Jim
Logged

Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room!

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

http://photobucket.com/buspictures
Ross
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2007, 07:38:34 AM »

The aircard will get you broadband service in a supporting area, which is expanding rapidly.  Cell phone will not.  Cell phone also uses minutes while connected.  The aircard is unlimited.  Depends on your service needs.  If I used a cell phone, I'd have you buy thier most expensive plan (for the minutes) and even then I'd probably double that.  Doesn't take long to burn up an hours worth of cell time on the internet, especially when you're not on broadband.

Ross
Logged
jjrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2313

MCI5C/N Ft Myers FL




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2007, 11:38:32 AM »

My plan does not use minutes! John Dodge was parked next to me and he said he has a Sprint plan for $25 month that does not use minutes. I think it was the Vision plan, but not sure. FWIW
Logged

Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room!

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

http://photobucket.com/buspictures
JackConrad
Orange Blossom Special II
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4447


73' MC-8 8V71/HT740 Southwest Florida


WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2007, 01:05:14 PM »

With our Alltel plan, we pay an extra 24.95 per month for unlimited high speed data transfer using our cell phone and a cable connected to a USB port on ur laptop.  We did find last weekend, we can answer and talk on the phone while we are online, although the speed does slow down. If we don't opt for the extra 24.95 per month, we get a slow connection for free except for minutes used. We have feree minutes from 7 PM til 7 AM and weekends & Holidays. If we limit our internet time to the "free minutes" time, there is no additional chagre or minutes used, but much slower connection speed.  Jack
Logged

Growing Older Is Mandatory, Growing Up Is Optional
Arcadia, Florida, When we are home
http://s682.photobucket.com/albums/vv186/OBS-JC/
Dallas
Guest

« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2007, 02:22:09 PM »

Our Cingular plan doesn't use minutes either.

2 LG CU500 GSM four band phones.
550 minutes per month anytime, with roll over.
Mobile to Mobile free
Nights and weekends after 7PM
No Roaming
Unlimited Data service ranging anywhere from a little faster than dialup  to 2.5Mbps. Right now we are really slow because we are quite aways from any towers
My phone has free text messaging and Media net.... the ability to read email and surf the net on the phone itself, except I haven't set it up yet.

Cost: $138/month

So far, since January, our rollover minutes are up to 1400. It seems I seldom talk on the phone and Cat works during the day, so we never use the anytime minutes.

One caveat, the rollover minutes only roll over for a year, so if we have used up Januarys by next January, we lose them.

Dallas
Logged
travelingfools
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468





Ignore
« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2007, 06:29:09 AM »

I love the home made thing !!! I made a cellular antenna out of a broom handle and some coat hanger to use at my camp. Went from no service to full service..and it was free !!

http://www.geocities.com/robert_maria/  ....It really works !!! (and like jjrbus, Ive still got my first communion money..lol)
« Last Edit: May 09, 2007, 08:14:00 AM by travelingfools » Logged

John P, Lewiston NY   1987 MC 9 ...ex NJT
jjrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2313

MCI5C/N Ft Myers FL




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2007, 07:17:16 AM »

Where were you 6 years ago when I bought mine? They were rare and expensive back then. I think I paid a little over $100. This will go in my favorites list. Thanks for posting.
Logged

Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room!

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

http://photobucket.com/buspictures
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!