Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
December 20, 2014, 10:47:46 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: New ownership began September 1st 2012!  Please send any comments to info@busconversions.com
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Skill needed to do a conversion  (Read 2000 times)
TomC

Ignore
« on: August 04, 2007, 10:06:10 AM »

I am an ex truck driver.  Granted I took about every shop class I could in school, but never had built anything as extensive as a bus conversion.  I did convert a 8ft drom box on my truck into a sleeper.  On my conversion, I did just about everything myself.  The jobs I did not do were the engine and transmission overhaul, rear end gear change, blow in spray insulation (nasty job), lay the carpet, paint the bus.  The one job that was giving me the biggest anticipation fears was the kitchen.  I said to myself that I was going to start and see how far I got until it was impossible to go on then call a carpenter.  You know what-I just kept plugging along and soon it was complete!  This is my point-many don't have or feel they have the ability to do a conversion or part of it.  You need to read lots on the jobs you want to do, then you have to get your hands dirty to learn the task.  There is no right way or wrong way to do cabinetry work.  You know you've done the right job when the cabinets stay up when you drive.  When it comes to plumbing and especially electrical, there definitely is a right way and a wrong way.  Just dive in and do it.  We all had to learn some how-we weren't born with the ability.  Good Luck, TomC

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
Don4107

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2007, 12:17:07 PM »

Tom,