Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
March 04, 2015, 07:13:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This BB is intended for the sole purpose of sharing conversion and bus related information among visitors to our web site. These rules must be followed in order for us to continue this free exchange of info. No bad mouthing of any business or individual is permitted. Absolutely no items for sale are to be posted, except in the Spare Tire board. Interested in placing a classified or web ad, please contact our advertising dept. at 714-903-1784 or e-mail to: info@busconversions.com.

   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: does the 730 trans have a lock-up torque converter  (Read 802 times)
ttomas
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 128




Ignore
« on: August 06, 2007, 07:19:49 PM »

does the 730 trans have a lock-up  torque converter? Thanks Tomas
Logged
Jerry Liebler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1320




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2007, 08:17:10 PM »

Yes.  It's shift pattern is normally first through torque converter, second through torque converter, second with torque converter locked up, third with torque converter locked.
Regards
Jerry 4107 1120
Logged
ttomas
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 128




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2007, 09:30:46 PM »

thanks Jerry, I thought it was but wasn't sure.  Tomas
Logged
RJ
Owner of Aesop's Tortoise
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2943





Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2007, 09:42:01 PM »

Tomas -

The torque converter locking up in a V-730 is what makes most folk who are unfamiliar with this transmission think it's a four-speed.

FWIW & HTH. . .

 Wink
Logged

RJ Long
PD4106-2784 No More
S13406 MC-5C
Fresno CA
TomC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7063





Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2007, 10:00:53 PM »

If you have a 3-2-1-N-R shifter, you can pull the shifter into first and get lockup on deceleration.  You can also climb a hill in first in lockup.  Once you are at top speed in 1st with your foot on the floor, pull up on the throttle by about an inch and you should feel the transmission bump into lockup.  Then you can climb a long grade without heating up the radiator.  Good Luck, TomC
Logged

Tom & Donna Christman. '77 AMGeneral 10240B; 8V-71TATAIC V730.
RJ
Owner of Aesop's Tortoise
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2943





Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2007, 10:07:05 PM »

TomC -

Are you saying simply keep the shifter in 1, and back out of the throttle slightly at the governor in 1st to bump into lockup?

Or do you physically have to move the throttle an inch or more so that the linkage on the transmission activates the lockup?

Appreciate you helping clear the muddy mind. . . 

 Wink

Logged

RJ Long
PD4106-2784 No More
S13406 MC-5C
Fresno CA
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!