Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
September 23, 2014, 03:22:18 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: The dog will not eat it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Front spoiler/air dam for mileage  (Read 12649 times)
Chaz

4108, 8V71 w/auto .

Ignore
« on: August 10, 2007, 07:00:47 PM »

Ok guys, my brain has been at it yet again. (sorry, I'm an artist  Grin)

I seen a semi-truck that they were working on to get the best mileage possible in Australia a few years back and they were stream lining it (tapering it), filling the gap over the fifth wheel, closing wheel well openings AND using an air dam on the front to keep the air from dragging under the truck.
  I was just wondering if any of those concepts -ie. the air dam- would work or help on our beloved buses??  If somebody has any insight, I'd love to know what they think. I like reinventing the mouse trap, if it's at least viable. I hate making mistakes that have been made before.  Angry

"Airing" on the side of fuel mileage,
        Chaz

Pix of my bus here: http://s58.photobucket.com/albums/g279/Skulptor/Motor%20Coach/
What I create here:   www.amstudio.us

"Imagination is more important than knowledge". Albert Einstein
buswarrior

'75 MC8 8V71 HT740

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2007, 11:50:34 PM »

Hello.

From all the stuff I've read over the years about the various strategies for improving tractor trailer aerodynamics, the percentage improvements are so small that it would make payback pretty much impossible for a busnut.

Removing unneccesary weight, a more gentle use of the throttle pedal, both on acceleration, and in choice of cruise speed, and keeping engine idling to a minimum are the significant things we might do to change fuel consumption.

Or trade in my MC8 for a 4104.....

happy coaching!