Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
December 20, 2014, 07:00:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It takes up much less space in your bus.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Towed brake connection, serious safety and legal issue  (Read 3292 times)
Jerry Liebler

Ignore
« on: August 29, 2007, 11:08:43 AM »

I have a Brakemaster 9160, by Roadmaster that I've installed in what will soon be my towed.  This is an air cylinder that activates the towed's pedal and it has a 'breakaway' reservoir and switch.  It connects to the coach by a single air line through a 'quick connect' fitting.  The installation instructions tell one to use an extra port on the rear brake relay valve to supply the quick connector, or if no extra port put a 't' into any of the lines that has air flow only when the treadle is pushed.  There is no mention of any form of 'tractor protection' and I believe there is a federal law making it a crime to hook up a trailer without.  In the event of a break away, the towed would have it's brakes applied but the bus, on the other hand would have a 1/4" tube draining it's air so braking would be severely limited.  I sure don't like this situation.  I looked into tractor protection valves but they all depend on the trailer's connection by a supply/emergency line and a control line.  Since they sense reduced pressure on the supply line to shut things down they won't work with the Brakemaster's single line.  Then I found  http://rversonline.org/ToadInstall.html