Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
August 23, 2014, 04:35:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: You will not have to go out in the rain, sleet, hail, or snow to retrieve it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Help. No fuel from the pump 8v71  (Read 2003 times)
gears80

Ignore
« on: September 10, 2007, 05:09:43 PM »

I tried to start my mc5a after two months. Ran fine before. Won't start. I started checking for fuel problems. I found out there isn't any fuel leaving the pump. I am new to these diesel engines so I looked it up in the maintenance manual and all it shows is a circuit diagram. Does anyone have an idea where to start looking? thanks
Utahclaimjumper

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2007, 05:54:50 PM »

To get fuel FROM the pump you need to get fuel TO the pump, its probably sucking air, thats where I'd start.>>>Dan

Utahclaimjumper 
 EX 4106 (presently SOB)
Cedar City, Ut.
 72 VW Baja towed
NJT5047

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2007, 05:55:55 PM »

Have you tried to bleed the pump?  That's probably why it won't start.  Depending on what you've disconnected, it may be loaded with air.
I'm not sufficiently versed on MC5s to tell you how to bleed it, but you may find a pump or other valving has been installed that will bleed the system.  
You may want to call the previous owner for info on bleeding the DD fuel system.
It shouldn't have air in it from sitting for 2 months.  You may want to check for an air leak or crack in the fuel supply line.  
Since the pump won't pump with air in it, you'll have to add fuel under low pressure ahead of the fuel filter until you have fuel coming out of the the pump....or from the bypass line.  
I'd recommend installing a bleed pump if you don't have one.