Bus Conversion Magazine Bulletin Board
May 27, 2018, 08:35:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: By clicking on any ad, a hotlink takes you directly to the advertiserís website.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Looking for a Source of Panel Switches  (Read 3033 times)
Gary '79 5C
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 613




Ignore
« on: November 13, 2007, 08:04:42 AM »

Looking for a source for panel switches, rocker switches, or maybe circuit breakers. Rather not go with toggles as this will be located within a panel above the drivers position for all to see. I have a Newmar 120 dist. breaker panel & a 12 volt breaker panel and would like to go with the rockers.
Newmar's product is a little pricey. Or maybe I am more than a little cheap. Really broke with the price of fuel.

Ideas, suggestions, sucess stories all welcomed.

Thanks,

Gary Pasternak
Logged

Experience is something you get Just after you needed it....
Ocean City, NJ
Dreamscape
Guest

« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2007, 08:29:58 AM »

I have found several of them on the eplace under switch panels.

HTH,

Paul
Logged
makemineatwostroke
Guest

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2007, 08:42:04 AM »

Gary try this place http://www.action-electronics.com
Logged
RTS/Daytona
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 526


Pete RTS/Daytona ->'89 TMC 35' 102" 6V92TA 4:10


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2007, 08:45:33 AM »

http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bin/category/700400/Rocker.html

http://www.surplussales.com/Switches/SWRocker-1.html

http://www.surpluscenter.com/sort.asp?UID=2007111310422359&catname=electric&keyword=ESTR
Logged

If you ain't part of the solution, then you're part of the problem.
Tom Y
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1027


80 5C With Cummins L10 in Progress




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2007, 09:19:48 AM »

Gary, You may also want to try WWW.Delcity.net   Tom Y
Logged

Tom Yaegle
gumpy
Some Assembly Required
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4101


Slightly modified 1982 MC9


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2007, 10:48:20 AM »

www.waytekwire.com
Logged

Craig Shepard
Located in Minnesquito

http://bus.gumpydog.com - "Some Assembly Required"
TomCat
It's 4:20 somewhere...
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 411



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2007, 12:07:13 PM »

Gary, as long as your budget isn't too tight, these guys have every panel imaginable. And if you want something else, they will build it for you.
http://www.paneltronics.com/ip.asp?op=Prods_Panels

Hope that helps.

Jay
87 SaftLiner
Logged

On The High Plains of Colorado
Gary '79 5C
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 613




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2007, 12:17:56 PM »

I should have been more specific, but that is my problem, However as I was to revise my request for panel mounted ( not loose switches) my friend TomCat is Johnny on the spot with the solution.

I could fabricate a panel with the rocker cutouts but It would look like I did it. I know toggles are drilled, but I have a slight problem with the look. Petty I know, but I do like the product provided by the paneltronic source.

I am going to be more selective in the 12 Volt feeds to items which were ganged together by the PO. I also prefer to be able to control the electric feeds, if a problem while driving, with the controls just above my head, within arms reach.

Thanks Guys, All very helpful,

Gary Pasternak
Logged

Experience is something you get Just after you needed it....
Ocean City, NJ
FloridaCliff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2459


"The Mighty GMC"




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2007, 01:44:14 PM »

Gary,

Check out some marine closeout places.

I found a panel from a large open fisherman that has the 20 panel switches with a push in breaker above each one.

My plan is to put it over my up front overhead for easy reach and to isolate all circuits to avoid one problem shutting down numerous items.

Best of Luck

Cliff
Logged

1975 GMC  P8M4905A-1160    North Central Florida

"There are basically two types of people. People who accomplish things, and people who claim to have accomplished things. The first group is less crowded."
Mark Twain
prevost82
82 Prevost 8V92ta 6 speed
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 555


82 Prevost Marathon XL




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2007, 03:35:25 PM »

Our try http://bluesea.com/category/7 I used the http://bluesea.com/category/7/32/products/8085 Panel
Ron
Logged
jjrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2314

MCI5C/N Ft Myers FL




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2007, 05:53:27 PM »

Gary if you have not arrived in FL yet on your way down there is an electronics surplus place  Skycraft, in Orlando that might have something you need.
 If you are already here there is a marine surplus place on Palm Beach Blvd. in Ft Myers, that may have something yo can use.
 Then in the spring there is a large marine flea mkt in Dana, where lots of gooddies can be found .
Logged

Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room!

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

http://photobucket.com/buspictures
Gary '79 5C
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 613




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2007, 01:20:33 AM »

FlaCliff,
You have the same idea as I am looking for in being able to isolate circuits from the drivers position. Not that I have many problems but there are benifits to this as I dislike to pull off just to switch something. I also hate to leave the sat ant. on while not in use, but that is circuited with other things.

Jjrbus,
I have not left yet, but will be in you area week of 8, Dec. Would like to stop over or you the same, or just stop out for a bite to eat. Your choice. My cell is 609 703 - 8989. I will check out your suggestions as well.

thanks to all,,,

Gary Pasternak
Logged

Experience is something you get Just after you needed it....
Ocean City, NJ
dave870
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2007, 12:58:48 PM »

Like most rocker switches, the Carling Contura line from Waytek are hard to install because of the accurate sizing required for the cut-out.  However if you use the accessory mounting panels for an additional $1 per switch it becomes very easy because hole size is very forgiving.

I cut a single hole with jig saw about 9" X 1.9" and installed a row of 9 switches. It's unlikely you would want a switch configuration not carried by Waytek but if you do, expect to pay 2 to 3 times more elsewhere.

Dave.
Logged
HB of CJ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1760




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2007, 01:27:16 PM »

Also, if you are on a tight $budget$ and do not mind using recycled stuff, try your local and friendly heavy truck wrecking/recycling yard.  Lots of times they will let you (for a small insurance $fee$) cruise their yard for wrecked/rolled truck tractors.  Bring along your own tool bucket and lots of times they will let you select and remove truck tractor cab stuff, including your needed switches.

This is how I have been gathering all sorts of truck parts that will also work on/in a coach conversion.  Expect to spend about 10 to 25 cents or sooss on the dollar for new.  Got a full bucket of gages, sendors and switches for my conversion, only I later traded them off for some new mirrors.  Oh well.  Anyway, doing it this way is fun and you can get good stuff for very little $money$  Good luck.  Smiley Smiley
Logged
rcbishop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2007, 05:41:39 PM »

FWIW...

I purchased 14 Contura Switches from WayTek three or four years ago...lighted switches.  Since the
purchase, one switch does not work at all...and hasn't from the beginning...and 7 have no light.  And apparently there is no way to change the "bulb".  Called Waytek and the said " sorry....they are not the manufacturer".  Pretty expensive at over 7.00, per plus shipping.  Their new catalog shows even higher.

While I like them....doubt I would buy again. and intend to change out B4 long.

RCB
'64 Crown Supercoach ( HWC) 
Logged
gumpy
Some Assembly Required
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4101


Slightly modified 1982 MC9


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: November 14, 2007, 05:55:47 PM »

RCB,

What switches are you talking about. A SPST with 1 light is only 3.87.

The switches are very simple. You can open them up and probably fix the one that didn't work. It's probably just misaligned inside.

Also, it's not real difficult to install LEDs inside them. You can remove the bulbs that are burned out, and replace them with a 1/4 watt resistor and led. Takes a bit of finess to solder it in, but it's not too difficult. I did it on a couple dozen that I'll be using on my electrical relay system.

I might be persuaded to modify them for you if you want to send them out. Cost plus. I'm very reasonable. I like dark beer.  Roll Eyes

craig


Logged

Craig Shepard
Located in Minnesquito

http://bus.gumpydog.com - "Some Assembly Required"
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!