Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 01, 2014, 05:26:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If your computer is lost, damaged, or stolen, we will replace all of your E-Mags for free.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Question for you HVAC guys (Now with Pictures)  (Read 3351 times)
captain ron
Guest

« on: November 19, 2007, 11:29:45 AM »

I put a 110 volt water pump on my proheat setup. I just hooked up my thermostat and want it to control my pump also. Is that necessary or does that pump need to run all the time? Or is there a way to shut it down after everything cools down? I'm in LaLa Land when it comes to this stuff.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2007, 05:49:33 PM by Charley Davidson » Logged
JackConrad
Orange Blossom Special II
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4447


73' MC-8 8V71/HT740 Southwest Florida


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2007, 12:07:13 PM »

Ron,
  I just ordered an aquastat to control the fans on the heater cores for our proheat. The aquastat fits in the return line to the proheat and does not allow the fans to come on until the water is 120 degrees. Our proheat has a water pump as part of the package.  You could use your thermostat to control a relay  that would operate your pump. (relay should be rated for 120 volt and have a coil that matches the ooutput voltage of your thermostat) Just curious, why did you add a 120 volt pump?  Jack
Logged

Growing Older Is Mandatory, Growing Up Is Optional
Arcadia, Florida, When we are home
http://s682.photobucket.com/albums/vv186/OBS-JC/
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2007, 12:34:41 PM »

The replacement pumps for a proheat is big $$$ so I got this one that a few other guys are using. Its for a hot water heating system for a home.
Logged
Don4107
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 407





Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2007, 03:49:54 PM »

Ron

If you are eliminating the 12v pump built into the Proheat then you should be able to use the 12v leads that ran the built in motor to control a relay to switch your 120V pump.  As Jack said you would need a relay with a 12/24VDC coil which ever your unit has and contacts rated for 120VAC.

Not sure if that would mess up the on board logic/self diagnostics.   I have not installed mine yet, but was thinking I might do something like this only with a larger DC pump.

Someone has surely done this before or at least added an axillary pump and hopefully will chime in too.

Don 4107
Logged

Don 4107 Eastern Washington
1975 MCI 5B
1966 GM PD 4107 for sale
1968 GMC Carpenter
Nick Badame Refrig/ACC
1989, MCI 102C3, 8V92T, HT740, 06' conversion FMCA# F-27317-S "Wife- 1969 Italian/German Style"
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4868


Nick & Michelle Badame


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2007, 04:06:42 PM »

Hi Don,

The control board of the proheat senses the amp draw of the 12v pump. If you try and draw a different curraent from it, it will lock out.

Ron, do as Jack has told you and run down to RE Michael and pick up an aquastat. A single pole single throw should be about 40/50 dollars.

I also have a aqua stat controlling my circulation fans. You can strap the stat to the body of the proheat to bring on the pump.

Another route would be a current sensing relay. It would sense the current draw of the proheat and bring on the pump.

Good Luck
Nick-
« Last Edit: November 19, 2007, 04:09:35 PM by Nick Badame Refrig. Co. » Logged

Whatever it takes!-GITIT DONE! 
Commercial Refrigeration- Ice machines- Heating & Air/ Atlantic Custom Coach Inc.
Master Mason- Cannon Lodge #104
https://www.facebook.com/atlanticcustomcoach
www.atlanticcustomcoach.com
Ednj
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 997


Ed & Sue Skiba




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2007, 04:13:31 PM »

[

« Last Edit: December 08, 2007, 08:54:07 PM by Ednj » Logged

MCI-9
Sussex county, Delaware.
See my picture's at= http://groups.yahoo.com/group/busshellconverters/
That's Not Oil Dripping under my Bus, It's Sweat from all that Horsepower.
----- This space for rent. -----
Nick Badame Refrig/ACC
1989, MCI 102C3, 8V92T, HT740, 06' conversion FMCA# F-27317-S "Wife- 1969 Italian/German Style"
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4868


Nick & Michelle Badame


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2007, 04:14:30 PM »

hay Ron,

Here is a little more on the "current sensing relay"...  you would run the proheat main 12v feed wire through the sensing hole, then the relay will

make contact for your water pump.  Pretty simple and inexpensive set up.

http://www.crmagnetics.com/newprod/ProductView.asp?ProdName=CR5395

Nick-
Logged

Whatever it takes!-GITIT DONE! 
Commercial Refrigeration- Ice machines- Heating & Air/ Atlantic Custom Coach Inc.
Master Mason- Cannon Lodge #104
https://www.facebook.com/atlanticcustomcoach
www.atlanticcustomcoach.com
Nick Badame Refrig/ACC
1989, MCI 102C3, 8V92T, HT740, 06' conversion FMCA# F-27317-S "Wife- 1969 Italian/German Style"
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4868


Nick & Michelle Badame


WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2007, 04:19:47 PM »

Hi Don,

The control board of the proheat senses the amp draw of the 12v pump. If you try and draw a different curraent from it, it will lock out.



Good Luck
Nick-
>
Wire in your circulation pump, to the boiler with an on/off switch.
(If the Proheat is on the pump is on)
Install an AT transformer and zone valves, with the Thermostats (or switches) controlling the zone valves.
Thermostats, 1 for the bedroom, 1 for the livingroom.
Switches 1 for the wvo tank, 1 for the towel warmer etc.
With the pump constantly circulating through the flat plate exchanger you will always have hot water and the Proheat will stay up to temp, running less.
You could just leave the Thermostat turning on and off the proheat, when the thermostat calls for heat the proheat will fire up and run hard to get up to temp then shut down.

By the way I received my 34,000 BTU cabin air heater, that will go on it’s own zone.
Here’s a couple pictures’



Eddie,

 That transformer you have in pic #1, unmount it from that piece of wood and get it mounted on a metal work box.....
Fire Hazzard!  Fire Hazzard!...

Nick-
Logged

Whatever it takes!-GITIT DONE! 
Commercial Refrigeration- Ice machines- Heating & Air/ Atlantic Custom Coach Inc.
Master Mason- Cannon Lodge #104
https://www.facebook.com/atlanticcustomcoach
www.atlanticcustomcoach.com
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2007, 04:35:10 PM »


Eddie,

 That transformer you have in pic #1, unmount it from that piece of wood and get it mounted on a metal work box.....
Fire Hazzard!  Fire Hazzard!...

Nick-

It's mounted with a standoff but really it's part of his fire suppression system, if you notice it is hooked to his fresh water tank in case of a fire it will burn through and let water out putting out the fire. Very elaborate system  Grin
Logged
Busted Knuckle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6447


6 Setras, 2 MCIs, and 1 Dina. Just buses ;D


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2007, 05:49:48 PM »


Quote from: Nick Badame Refrig. Co.
Eddie,

 That transformer you have in pic #1, unmount it from that piece of wood and get it mounted on a metal work box.....
Fire Hazzard!  Fire Hazzard!...

Nick-


Quote from: Charley Davidson
It's mounted with a standoff but really it's part of his fire suppression system, if you notice it is hooked to his fresh water tank in case of a fire it will burn through and let water out putting out the fire. Very elaborate system  Grin

FWIW IMOHO it still looks like a good amount of damage could be done by the flames going up first before melting through the tank! Maybe he should cut out that section of wood and screw it dirtectly to the tank for a more reliable "Fire Supression System" that way if the transformer overheated it could active the "Fire Suppression System with out having flames!  Grin
Grin  BK  Grin

Logged

Busted Knuckle aka Bryce Gaston
KY Lakeside Travel's Busted Knuckle Garage
Huntingdon, TN 12 minutes N of I-40 @ exit 108
www.kylakesidetravel.net

Grin Keep SMILING it makes people wonder what yer up to! Grin (at least thats what momma always told me! Grin)
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2007, 05:56:32 PM »

Can I use this?
http://cgi.ebay.com/honeywell-aquastat-40006A_W0QQitemZ140179153387QQihZ004QQcategoryZ109481QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Logged
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2007, 06:06:21 PM »

Or this one?
http://cgi.ebay.com/Honeywell-L4006A-aquastat-100-240-hi-or-low-limit_W0QQitemZ200174516765QQihZ010QQcategoryZ41987QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Logged
Nick Badame Refrig/ACC
1989, MCI 102C3, 8V92T, HT740, 06' conversion FMCA# F-27317-S "Wife- 1969 Italian/German Style"
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4868


Nick & Michelle Badame


WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 19, 2007, 06:57:01 PM »

Hi Ron,

You will want a strap on type aqua stat. The one you have listed from e-bay looks like it has a fixed bulb straight out the back.

Look at Bruce's aqua stat that I installed on his bus to operate his HP fan. That's the type you need.

Nick-
Logged

Whatever it takes!-GITIT DONE! 
Commercial Refrigeration- Ice machines- Heating & Air/ Atlantic Custom Coach Inc.
Master Mason- Cannon Lodge #104
https://www.facebook.com/atlanticcustomcoach
www.atlanticcustomcoach.com
Nick Badame Refrig/ACC
1989, MCI 102C3, 8V92T, HT740, 06' conversion FMCA# F-27317-S "Wife- 1969 Italian/German Style"
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4868


Nick & Michelle Badame


WWW
« Reply #13 on: November 19, 2007, 07:19:51 PM »

Hi Ron,

I didn't see the second one you posted but, 100 deg on the low end is what you need.

I have my fan set to come on at 130 deg, and cycle off at 105 deg.

Nick-
Logged

Whatever it takes!-GITIT DONE! 
Commercial Refrigeration- Ice machines- Heating & Air/ Atlantic Custom Coach Inc.
Master Mason- Cannon Lodge #104
https://www.facebook.com/atlanticcustomcoach
www.atlanticcustomcoach.com
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #14 on: November 19, 2007, 07:43:49 PM »

Second question. Are these going to operate a 12 volt fan or are they 110/220 ac only?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!