Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
November 24, 2014, 04:32:25 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This BB is intended for the sole purpose of sharing conversion and bus related information among visitors to our web site. These rules must be followed in order for us to continue this free exchange of info. No bad mouthing of any business or individual is permitted. Absolutely no items for sale are to be posted, except in the Spare Tire board. Interested in placing a classified or web ad, please contact our advertising dept. at 714-903-1784 or e-mail to: info@busconversions.com.

   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Question for you HVAC guys (Now with Pictures)  (Read 3426 times)
Nick Badame Refrig/ACC
1989, MCI 102C3, 8V92T, HT740, 06' conversion FMCA# F-27317-S "Wife- 1969 Italian/German Style"
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4884


Nick & Michelle Badame


WWW
« Reply #15 on: November 19, 2007, 08:36:17 PM »

Hi Ron,

Theese aqua stats are nothing but a switch controled by tempature, they can operate 12v dc, 24vdc, 115v ac, or 24v ac,

Nick-

Logged

Whatever it takes!-GITIT DONE! 
Commercial Refrigeration- Ice machines- Heating & Air/ Atlantic Custom Coach Inc.
Master Mason- Cannon Lodge #104
https://www.facebook.com/atlanticcustomcoach
www.atlanticcustomcoach.com
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #16 on: November 19, 2007, 08:40:05 PM »

Thanks nick. Do I only need one? I'm gonna try to get that second one on Ebay.
Also can I use one to control my pump or should I?
Logged
Nick Badame Refrig/ACC
1989, MCI 102C3, 8V92T, HT740, 06' conversion FMCA# F-27317-S "Wife- 1969 Italian/German Style"
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4884


Nick & Michelle Badame


WWW
« Reply #17 on: November 20, 2007, 05:35:29 AM »

Hi Ron,

The first one you posted from e-bay is an "Immersion" type. Inotherwords, it's sensing probe needs to be in water.

This type has a 1/2" fitting in the rear of the control that screws into a boiler port. Most likely, not what you want...

Nick-
Logged

Whatever it takes!-GITIT DONE! 
Commercial Refrigeration- Ice machines- Heating & Air/ Atlantic Custom Coach Inc.
Master Mason- Cannon Lodge #104
https://www.facebook.com/atlanticcustomcoach
www.atlanticcustomcoach.com
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2007, 07:39:10 PM »

Nick, Would these be worth taking a chance on? I need at least 3 zone valves.
http://cgi.ebay.com/LOT-OF-8-ZONE-VALVES-FOR-PARTS-OR-REPAIR-HVAC_W0QQitemZ190175609417QQihZ009QQcategoryZ53303QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Also on the Aquastat would the one with the probe be ok to use. I could strap the probe on the pex tubing
Logged
donnreeves
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 72





Ignore
« Reply #19 on: November 22, 2007, 06:14:29 AM »

I don't think the Pro-Heat will even fire up if the controler dosen't sence the circulator pump running. You will probably have to simulate the load to trick the computer. The OEM pump is around $300. Sounds like you are already half way there with a cobbled up setup.  Donn
Logged
JackConrad
Orange Blossom Special II
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4447


73' MC-8 8V71/HT740 Southwest Florida


WWW
« Reply #20 on: November 22, 2007, 06:29:30 AM »

Ron,
  Here is a link to the ProHeat coolant pump rebuild kit.  Jack

http://www.teleflexgfi.com/pdf/Truck_&_Bus/Proheat_X45/Bulletin/PB0008.pdf
Logged

Growing Older Is Mandatory, Growing Up Is Optional
Arcadia, Florida, When we are home
http://s682.photobucket.com/albums/vv186/OBS-JC/
JackConrad
Orange Blossom Special II
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4447


73' MC-8 8V71/HT740 Southwest Florida


WWW
« Reply #21 on: November 22, 2007, 06:43:39 AM »

Ron,
   Here is a link to more than you will ever need to know about ProHeat.  Look through the service bulletins.  Jack


http://www.teleflexgfi.com/pdf/Truck_&_Bus/Proheat_X45/Bulletin/PB0008.pdf
Logged

Growing Older Is Mandatory, Growing Up Is Optional
Arcadia, Florida, When we are home
http://s682.photobucket.com/albums/vv186/OBS-JC/
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #22 on: November 22, 2007, 09:41:41 AM »

I don't think the Pro-Heat will even fire up if the controler dosen't sence the circulator pump running. You will probably have to simulate the load to trick the computer. The OEM pump is around $300. Sounds like you are already half way there with a cobbled up setup.  Donn

Cobbled up setup? Did Ace sign up under an alias?  When I'm in a better internet connection place I'll post pictures, There's nothing cobbled up about what I'm doing. And I've already got around the issue of the pump sensing power draw from the pump. 
Jack, I rebuilt a pump from parts from another pump. But this setup is probably more reliable in the long run. and cheaper.
Logged
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2007, 07:59:00 PM »

Well I have made a mistake on my manifold. I left out the domestic hot water loop which I will install tomorrow when I disconnect the temporary setup and tie into my new manifold. I got some more goodies today, I now have two 12 volt zone valves thanks to Mike & Walt up here at Bruce's. I also purchased a brand new White Rodgers strap on aquastat to switch a 12 volt fan I have on a small radiator for my system. It retails for $128.00 I got it on Ebay for $10.00 plus 6.00 shipping, sweet deal. I will make up my extra expansion tank tomorrow with Ross's help welding and have been advised to make the intake in the bottom and the return in the top so as not to get air in the system. I will weld a small plate with a holder on it for my shaving cream and put a towel over the tank for the towel warmer part. I'm also going to install an expanded metal grill in place of my raised panel in my vanity door and have a small 12 volt computer fan mounted to supply heat for my bathroom. Should be a pretty cool  Hot system.
Logged
Dreamscape
Guest

« Reply #24 on: November 25, 2007, 05:36:30 AM »

Charley,

Please post some pictures when you have the time. I would be interested in your setup as I will install my Proheat X45 in the spring.

Thanks,

Paul
Logged
Homegrowndiesel
Vegetable oil, Rudolf Diesel's original fuel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 190


73-05 Eagle




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: November 25, 2007, 07:49:14 AM »

Ron
You DO NOT need another expansion tank. In fact you will not have an expansion tank, if you are hooking up your system as we had previously laid out. The engine radiator is at the top of the system and will be your only expansion tank. Everything else in the system will be flooded, but I guess it will be a good towel warmer? Wink   Undecided

Did you need a resistor on the relay that pulls in your 110 volt circulating pump to "get around the issue of the pump sensing power", or was the relay enough?

I have got to stop over and see your progress. Ed sent me pictures of the cabinets you built for him, they sure look good.

Bill
Logged

Aerodynamic Eagle & MCI 102a3
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #26 on: November 25, 2007, 07:07:25 PM »

I was able to work on my system for a while today and with help from Ross we have the supply manifold completed and tied into the loop, still using the temp. return setup I had. We installed the 2 12 volt zone valves I have (only one hooked up and being used right now) and that is really the ticket to better heat. I have changed my mind (I think) on using the second tank and will put in a 2 foot base board in my bathroom tied to the bedroom zone. After reading the other post on propane hydronic system I think I will try to find a couple radiators from a Harley Davidson VRod. They already have a really cool grill and fan cover and they would fit in with the theme and look I'm going for. Keep your eyes peeled for a wrecked VRod as I need an engine for my genset and a couple radiators. I have a very neat and high tech looking installation of my proheat and hope to get the pictures up soon. I don't have my photo shrinking program anymore as my old hard drive from my old laptop is missing and my connection is poor where I am.
Logged
Ednj
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 997


Ed & Sue Skiba




Ignore
« Reply #27 on: November 26, 2007, 02:19:38 PM »

I just got a sneak preview. Grin
Logged

MCI-9
Sussex county, Delaware.
See my picture's at= http://groups.yahoo.com/group/busshellconverters/
That's Not Oil Dripping under my Bus, It's Sweat from all that Horsepower.
----- This space for rent. -----
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #28 on: November 26, 2007, 02:55:24 PM »

The pex lines on top of the tank are going to be replaced in a couple days and the loose wires all about will be permanent soon. Every thing will be neat and straight not all cobbled up. The blue hose will be pex also and tucked away better.
Logged
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #29 on: November 26, 2007, 06:38:26 PM »

I was able to get my Proheat fuel line connected to my main fuel tank, Pretty simple job. I am putting in a Y with a valve so I can run off of another tank I have for my WVO and burn off road fuel till I get My WVO system up and running. I mentioned that I forgot to put in my domestic hot water loop but I was mistaken, it was in there Smiley After I finish some cabinets I'm building for another bus I'll get back to finishing my PH system and by then my new Aquastat should be here.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!